为什么天主教徒祈祷圣人?

Saint Jerome in Prayer by Hieronymus Bosch by Stefano di Sant`Agnese有些人批评天主教徒祈祷 圣徒, 而不是直接到神.

竟, 天主教徒通常直接向上帝祈祷, 但也可以要求圣徒–任何人在天堂–向上帝祈祷代表他们.

这么, 当一个人祈祷圣人,他基本上是问圣说情他–为他祷告,与他同上帝. 所有的基督徒基本上做同样的事情,问信徒在地球上为他们祷告时,他们, 尽管有人会想到,圣徒的祈祷更加强大,因为他们在神的面前立场完​​全成圣 (见 圣詹姆斯的信, 5:16).1

耶稣, 毕竟, 告诉我们,神“不是死人的上帝, 但活着的人“ (卢克 20:38). 在变形, 他在使徒的存在交谈与过世已久的以利亚和摩西 (马克 9:3). 他还承诺了好贼 (其中传统电话的Dismas圣) 他会和他一起在天堂那一天 (卢克 23:43).

在新约, 耶稣提供了一个比喻,其中在地狱一个人乞求一个人在亚伯拉罕怀里的干涉,为他的兄弟在地球上 (卢克 16:19).

耶稣也谈到了天使的代祷, 话, “看你不轻看这小子里的一个; 我告诉你们,在天上他们的使者总是看见我父亲的脸是谁在天堂“ (见 马修 18:10; 该 诗篇书 91:11-12; 而 启示录 8:3-4).

在他的 敬告歌罗西书, 保罗说地球上的信徒已合格神“在圣徒的继承轻分享” (1:12).

希伯来书 指的是神圣的旧约的男人和女人作为一个伟大的“云见证人”我们周围的 12:1 而在经文继续 12:22 – 23 同, “但是你已经来到锡安山和城市永生神的, 天上Jerusalemand在节日聚会无数天使, 并装配头胎谁是就读于天堂, 和法官是谁所有的神, 和刚刚的灵魂男人是完美的。“

在里面 启示录, 神圣的烈士站在上帝面前, 求他为正义代表的迫害在地球上 (6:9-11), 和使徒和先知天上的宝座前下跪,并提供了尘世忠实​​的祈祷他: “黄金碗盛满了香。, 这是圣徒的祈祷“ (5:8, 4:4 和 20:4). (需要注意的是地上的信徒们常常提到的新约“圣人”。这并不意味着他们已经完全成圣, 但是,他们是在被圣的过程. 例如, 保罗告诫以弗所, 就是他早期的地址是“谁也忠实地在基督耶稣圣徒,“转离他们的罪恶行为 (看到他的信给以弗所, 1:1 和 4:22-23).)

在基督教最早的历史著作中,我们收到类似的证词. 教皇圣克莱门特 (ð. CA. 97), 例如, 劝告基督徒, “按照圣人, 对于那些谁跟着他们将被神圣化“ (信科林蒂安 46:2; CF. 有着. 13:7).

在对今年 156, 在士麦那忠实解释说,他们崇拜耶稣, 但爱的烈士“作为主的门徒和模仿者, 因为他们活该, 由于他们无比热爱的自己的国王和教师. 愿我们也成为他们的合作伙伴和同胞弟子!” (圣Polcycarp殉难 17:3; ).

在第三个世纪初, 亚历山大的圣克莱门特说一个真正的基督徒“如何祈祷天使的社会, 作为已经是天使等级, 他从来都不是他们的神圣保持的; 虽然他祈祷独自, 他圣徒的合唱团站在了他“ (Stromateis 7:12).

在此之前,在舞台上她的死亡, 圣佩尔佩 (ð. 203) 讲述天堂的憧憬中,她遇到了烈士的英灵,见证了天使和长老神的宝座前敬拜 (见 圣徒佩蓓和费利西塔斯的殉道 4:1-2). 俄中写道: 233, “这不仅是大祭司谁与谁真正祈祷祈祷, 而且天使..., 也是圣徒是谁已经去世的灵魂“ (祈祷 11:1). 于 250, 迦太基圣塞浦路斯描述的圣体圣事是如何提供以纪念先烈对他们的死亡的周年纪念日 (见 一封信给他的教士和他的所有的人 39:3).

常见误解

还有, 祈求圣徒的做法似乎新教徒破坏“神与人之间,只有一位中保”耶稣的独特作用 (看到保罗的 首字母给提摩太 2:5).

然, 在称耶稣我们与上帝的唯一中保, 圣保罗是不是指代祷, 但到了赎罪. 因为耶稣是神和人, 只有他的死必须与父调和我们的力量 (看到后面诗句在同一封信: 2:6). 圣徒的代祷, 或基督徒在地上的代祷为此事, 不与基督在天父面前奇异调解干扰, 但在它绘制. 所以保罗, 在前面的诗行 2:5, 鼓励基督徒参与代祷, 其中“好, 并且......在神的面前接受我们的救主“ (2:1 – 3).

圣徒不是障碍服务耶稣, 但生活的例子,主提供了教我们如何服侍他​​完美. 作为母亲当归, 永远的圣言电视网的创办者 (EWTN), 明明白白把它, “我是方济各会, 这意味着我跟随耶稣根据阿西西的伟大弗朗西斯的榜样“ (恭佳佳, 解答, 不承诺, 伊格内修斯新闻, 1996, p. 15).

因此,我们要求: 什么父亲不喜出望外地看到他的孩子尊敬? 是不是尊重孩子基本上是纪念父亲更深刻的方式 (看到箴言书 17:6)? 教会不高举圣徒为自己的缘故, 但为了上帝是谁创造了​​他们, 成圣。, 在我们面前就为他们兴起.

这是祈祷, 不崇拜!

同样, 新教徒常犯的错误天主教祈祷的圣人崇拜. 这是来自一个不正确的观念,即祈祷和礼拜的代名词.

而祈祷是崇拜的一部分, 在本质上是由祭祀牺牲的发行 (见 出埃及记 20:24, 玛拉基 1:11; 和保罗的 希伯来书 10:10).

具体来说, 教会提供的圣体圣事的祭祀神和他一个人,在弥撒. 相比之下, 天主教徒不祭祖圣徒. 事实上, 它可能会让评论家知道,教会阶层在第四世纪谴责宗教团体的有关圣母玛利亚的过度. 圣埃皮法尼乌斯, 萨拉米斯的主教, 斥责被称为Kollyridians教派的提供牺牲面包给她 (Panarion 79). 读了这, 有些人可能会错误地得出这样的结论埃皮法尼乌斯必须普遍不赞成玛丽安奉献. 与此相反的, 然而, 埃皮法尼乌斯积极促进教会的玛丽教导同样的工作中,他斥责Kollyridians.

上帝的圣人的崇拜和尊敬区分, 奥古斯丁从希腊借来的条款 崇拜是的, 前者描述神的崇拜和后者形容圣徒的崇拜 (见 上帝之城 10:1).

我们崇拜的圣人,因为他们已经为圣神.

  1. 它通常是由所有,我们通过祷告彼此连接信徒理解 (看到圣保罗 致罗马人书 12:5 而他的第一封信给哥林多前书. 12:12).

    就像人的灵魂本身, 这个祷告链接生存死亡, 死亡是无能为力“我们从神在基督耶稣里的爱隔绝” (再次, 看到保罗的 致罗马人书 8:38-39). 这些谁死在友谊与上帝在阴间没有“睡着了”, 但随着他在天上统治。[1. 常见的圣经参考死里“睡觉” (见 马修, 9:24, 等。) 只是表示死亡的短暂性的手段,必须与死者的尸体做专, 没有灵魂 (马修 27:52). 该机构掌握在坟墓死亡而灵魂进入永恒. 在最后的审判, 身体复活,并与团聚的灵魂. 由于非天主教徒往往看到死者的睡眠, 祈祷圣徒似乎他们是巫术的一种形式 (见申命记书 18:10-11 和塞缪尔的第一本书, 28:6). 但巫术正确的理解是从否则属于只有上帝死搜集信息的尝试, 如将来的知识. 祈祷的圣徒, 另一方面, 仅仅是寻求天上的代祷.

Why Do Catholics Pray to Saints?

Saint Jerome in Prayer by Hieronymus Bosch by Stefano di Sant`AgneseSome criticize Catholics for praying to Saints, instead of directly to God.

Actually, Catholics usually pray directly to God, but can also ask the saints–anyone in Heaven–to pray to God on their behalf.

So, when one prays to a Saint he is basically asking the Saint to intercede for him–to pray for him and with him to God. All Christians do essentially the same thing when they ask fellow believers on earth to pray for them, though one would expect that the prayers of Saints to be more powerful because they stand fully sanctified in God’s presence (see The Letter of Saint James, 5:16).1

Jesus, after all, taught us that God “is not God of the dead, but of the living” (Luke 20:38). At the Transfiguration, He conversed with the long-deceased Elijah and Moses in the presence of the Apostles (Mark 9:3). He also promised the Good Thief (whom tradition calls Saint Dismas) that he would join Him in Paradise that very day (Luke 23:43).

In the New Testament, Jesus delivers a parable in which a man in Hades begs the intercession of a man in the Bosom of Abraham for his brothers on earth (Luke 16:19).

Jesus also speaks of the intercession of the angels, saying, “See that you do not despise one of these little ones; for I tell you that in heaven their angels always behold the face of my Father who is in heaven” (see Matthew 18:10; the Book of Psalms 91:11-12; and the Book of Revelation 8:3-4).

In his Letter to the Colossians, Paul writes that believers on earth have been qualified by God “to share in the inheritance of the saints in light” (1:12).

The Letter to the Hebrews refers to the holy men and women of the Old Covenant as a great “cloud of witnesses” surrounding us in 12:1 and continues in verses 12:22 – 23 with,  “But you have come to Mount Zion and to the city of the living God, the heavenly Jerusalemand to innumerable angels in festal gathering, and to the assembly of the first-born who are enrolled in heaven, and to a judge who is God of all, and to the spirits of just men made perfect.”

In the Book of Revelation, the holy martyrs stand before God, beseeching Him for justice on behalf of the persecuted on earth (6:9-11), and the Apostles and Prophets kneel before the throne of God in Heaven and offer the prayers of the earthly faithful to Him: “golden bowls full of incense, which are the prayers of the saints” (5:8, 4:4 and 20:4). (Note that the earthly faithful are often referred to in the New Testament as “saints.” This is not to suggest they have already been fully sanctified, but that they are in the process of being sanctified. For example, Paul admonishes the Ephesians, whom he earlier addresses as “the saints who are also faithful in Christ Jesus,” to turn away from their sinful behavior (see his Letter to the Ephesians, 1:1 and 4:22-23).)

In Christianity’s earliest historical writings we receive similar testimony. Pope Saint Clement (d. ca. 97), for example, counseled Christians to, “Follow the saints, for those who follow them will be sanctified” (Letter to the Corinthians 46:2; cf. Heb. 13:7).

In about the year 156, the faithful in Smyrna explained that they worshipped Jesus Christ, but loved the martyrs “as disciples and imitators of the Lord, as they deserve, on account of their matchless devotion to their own King and Teacher. May we also become their partners and fellow disciples!” (Martyrdom of Saint Polcycarp 17:3; ).

At the beginning of the third century, Saint Clement of Alexandria remarked how a true Christian “prays in the society of angels, as being already of angelic rank, and he is never out of their holy keeping; and though he pray alone, he has the choir of the saints standing with him” (Stromateis 7:12).

Prior to her death in the arena, Saint Perpetua (d. 203) recounted a vision of Heaven in which she met the souls of martyrs and witnessed angels and elders worshiping before the throne of God (see The Martyrdom of Saints Perpetua and Felicitas 4:1-2). Origen wrote in 233, “It is not only the High Priest who prays with those who truly pray, but also the angels …, and also the souls of the saints who have passed away” (On Prayer 11:1). In 250, Saint Cyprian of Carthage described how the Eucharist was offered in honor of the martyrs on the anniversaries of their deaths (see Letter to His Clergy and to All His People 39:3).

Common Misconceptions

Still, the practice of praying to the Saints appears to Protestants to undermine the unique role of Jesus as the “one mediator between God and men” (see Paul’s First Letter to Timothy 2:5).

However, in calling Jesus our sole Mediator with God, Saint Paul is not referring to intercessory prayer, but to the Atonement. Because Jesus is both God and man, only His death had the power to reconcile us with the Father (see the succeeding verse in the same letter: 2:6). The intercession of the Saints, or the intercession of Christians on earth for that matter, does not interfere with Christ’s singular mediation before the Father, but draws upon it. Thus Paul, in the lines preceding verse 2:5, encourages Christians to engage in intercessory prayer, which “is good, and … is acceptable in the sight of God our Savior” (2:1 – 3).

The Saints are not obstacles to serving Jesus, but living examples the Lord has provided to teach us how to serve Him perfectly. As Mother Angelica, foundress of the Eternal Word Television Network (EWTN), plainly put it, “I am a Franciscan, which means I follow Jesus according to the example of the great Francis of Assisi” (with Christine Allison, Answers, Not Promises, Ignatius Press, 1996, p. 15).

So we ask: what father is not overjoyed to see his children honored? Is not honoring the child essentially a more profound way of honoring the father (see the Book of Proverbs 17:6)? The Church does not exalt the Saints for their own sakes, but for the sake of God Who created them, sanctified them, and raised them up before us.

It’s Prayer, not Worship!

Similarly, Protestants often mistake Catholic prayer to the Saints as worship. This comes from an incorrect notion that prayer and worship are synonymous.

While prayer is part of worship, in essence worship consists of the offering of a sacrifice (see Exodus 20:24, Malachi 1:11; and Paul’s Letter to the Hebrews 10:10).

Specifically, the Church offers the Sacrifice of the Eucharist to God—and to Him alone—at Holy Mass. By contrast, Catholics do not offer sacrifice to the Saints. In fact, it may surprise critics to know that the Church hierarchy censured a religious group in the fourth century for excesses regarding the Virgin Mary. Saint Epiphanius, the Bishop of Salamis, rebuked the sect known as the Kollyridians for offering sacrificial bread to her (Panárion 79). Reading this, some might erroneously conclude that Epiphanius must have generally disapproved of Marian devotion. To the contrary, however, Epiphanius enthusiastically promotes the Church’s teachings on Mary in the same work in which he rebukes the Kollyridians.

To distinguish between the worship of God and veneration of the Saints, Augustine borrowed from the Greek the terms latria and dulia, the former to describe the worship of God and the latter to describe veneration of the Saints (see The City of God 10:1).

We venerate the Saints because they have been sanctified by God.

  1.  It is commonly understood by all Christians that we are joined to one another through prayer (see Saint Paul’s Letter to the Romans 12:5 and his First Letter to the Corinthians. 12:12).

    Like the human soul itself, this prayer-link survives death, for death is powerless “to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord” (again, see Paul’s Letter to the Romans 8:38-39). Those who have died in friendship with God are not “asleep” in the grave, but rule with Him in Heaven.[1. The common biblical reference to the dead being “asleep” (see Matthew, 9:24, et al.) is simply a means of expressing death’s transient nature and has to do specifically with the body of the deceased, not the soul (Matthew 27:52). The body rests in the grave at death while the soul enters into eternity. At the Last Judgment, the body is resurrected and reunited with the soul. Because non-Catholic Christians tend to see the dead as sleeping, prayer to the Saints appears to them to be a form of necromancy (see the Book of Deuteronomy 18:10-11 and the First Book of Samuel, 28:6). But necromancy properly understood is the attempt to glean information from the dead which otherwise belongs to God alone, such as knowledge of the future. Prayer to the Saints, on the other hand, is merely seeking heavenly intercession.