教会

为什么天主教堂之一, 真正的教会?

首先, 值得一问: 什么基督徒的意思,当他们说 一, 真正的教会?

安德烈迪Bonaiuto达佛罗伦萨教堂的胜利的图像

教会由Andrea迪Bonaiuto达佛罗伦萨的胜利

从广义上, 我们指的是那些谁相信三位一体–父神; 耶稣, 神的儿子; 圣灵–和原则是他的部门在耶稣教. 然而,我们必须,因为还有谁认为自己是基督徒群体的人要小心, 但谁也加入了自己的理解和想法,远远超出了耶稣教.

这么, “教堂” 包括那些谁跟随耶稣原来的教导 (不同程度的), 但就是耶稣的意思? 要回答这个问题, 有必要审视Sciptures.

马太福音 (16:18) 耶稣对彼得说, “我告诉你, 你是彼得, 并在此岩石,我将建立我的教会, 与地狱的权力,不能胜过它。“后来在 马修 28:20, 耶稣保证他的追随者,他将继续与他们“总是, 到时代的结束。“同样,, 约翰福音, 耶稣应许圣灵会与教会永远 (14:16).

有迹象表明,涉及主法建立众多的圣经经文“一国是永远不会被消灭。” (例如, 见 但以理书 (2:44), 以赛亚书 (9:7) 而 马太福音 (13:24).)

由于这些原因, 我们可以肯定的是,教会耶稣founded-唯一的那个, 真正的教会都具有一个从来没有下降,已经从圣彼得日连续站立了直到今天仍然存在“万代, 长长久久” (作为圣. 保罗在写他的 信哉 3:21).

这意味着教会的教义原封生存,因为他们给她基督本人谁说, “天地要废去, 我的话却不能废去“ (见 马修 24:35 和先知 以赛亚书 40:8).

在他的 首字母给提摩太 (3:15), 圣保罗走得更远,呼吁教会“真理的柱石和壁垒。”因为他的教会一直信奉同样的教条近 2,000 年份, 有一个不间断的历史踪迹耶稣的门徒的原社区链接到其现代化的自助. 这么, 它必须能够回到过去追溯当代基督教机构之一的教导使徒的日子.

使徒继承

今天所有的多个不同的基督教社区的, 只有天主教会能够通过证实真实性她的要求 使徒继承, 或主教的完整的产品线中,忠实地使徒们的教导,从公元一世纪到今天. 这个道理是支持基督教的古代历史著作,在早期教父的著作身体–它首先通过信件男人谁从使徒教训信仰直接由. 这些作品都是现成的网上或任何好的图书馆或书店.

非天主教徒常常否认需要有一个权威, 教学教会, 一般看圣经作为其孤独的真理的来源, 相信圣经是自我解释.

具有讽刺意味的, 这个想法是由经文驳斥, 本身. 见圣 彼得的第二封信 (1:20-21).

还有, 它是由事实,有众多的“圣经只”教派,从根本上不同意圣经的教导破坏! 如果基督的教导自己的私人解释是会犯错误 (而作为一个人的解释, 这将是) 那么历史教会的著作是非常宝贵的深入了解的方式,使徒和他们的继任者解释圣经,并活出信仰.

圣史蒂芬生命的图像: 排序和施舍给人以法兰克福机场Angelico由Benozzo戈佐利协助

圣史蒂芬生活: 排序和施舍给人以法兰克福机场Angelico由Benozzo戈佐利协助

这些早期教父的这些著作紧紧说明了天主教教会的教学连续性, 它一直保持,尽管人为错误和罪恶, 迫害, 这将导致一个普通的机构放弃其核心原则不久前文化压力. 在天主教会的连续性品评 (特别罗马教会) 在第二个世纪, 里昂的圣爱任纽叫她“最大和最古老的教堂众所周知的” 对异端邪说 3:3:2.

请注意,有多种学说已经炮制了对教会的反对者的部分年试图解释她的原声,或 解释它拿走 也许有人会说. 最常见的这类理论声称天主教进入了第四世纪是, 身边的时候,皇帝君士坦丁大帝使基督教合法化,整个罗马帝国. 该理论认为,基督教会的很大一部分最终因皈依的大量涌入成为被异教影响损坏. 当然, 难以逾越的障碍,这个理论是天主教教义的要早君士坦丁宗教著作的存在, 与早期教父的历史著作证明这一点在强大的方式.

圣史蒂芬生活中的形象: 驱逐和被用石头砸死法兰克福机场Angelico由Benozzo戈佐利协助

圣史蒂芬生活: 驱逐和被用石头砸死法兰克福机场Angelico由Benozzo戈佐利协助

基督教的古代作家的公开天主教是无可辩驳.

认为, 例如, 安提阿的圣依纳爵, 谁是全年死亡 107. 伊格内修斯是使徒彼得和约翰的学生和所使用的教会的圣体圣事的教学,以打击异端谁否认的化身.

他有被记录在案最早的作家用“宽容”作为一个适当的名称为教会的区别. “只要主教出现, 让人们在那里,“ 他写了; “正如无论耶稣基督, 有天主教会。“

巧合的是, 安提阿, 伊格内修斯'主教, 恰好也是为了在这里首次称为基督的信徒“基督徒”的地方 (见使徒行传 11:26).

圣三一由阿尔布雷希特丢勒崇拜的图像

圣三一通过杜勒的崇拜

单词“三位一体”的最早的文字使用来自安提阿, 太. 出现在另一个主教的一封信, 圣提阿, 约 181 (见 要Autolycus 2:15), 圣爱任纽写道:, “如果上帝是来自比父亲其他, 他怎么能正确地吃面包, 这是相同创造我们自己的, 并承认这是他的身体, 并确认,在杯中的混合物他 ?” (见 异端邪说 4:33:2).1

这么, 如何协调他人的蔑视罗马教会了她卓越的伊格内修斯'确认? 他称她为“持有总统在罗马的国家的地方教会...;“,并接着说, “你羡慕任何人, 但其他人你教. 我只希望你已经责成在说明什么可​​以继续有效“ (罗马书, 住址; 3:1).

爱任纽上市罗马的主教们到他的时间, 评论, “在这个秩序, 由使徒教学中教会传世, 真理的说教已经下降到我们“ (见 异端邪说 3:3:3).

有些人可能会被依纳爵'提玛丽安学说同日而语的受难感到沮丧? 玛丽“的贞操,“ 他写了, “她生完孩子, 主,也是死亡, 被隐藏的这个世界的王:三防奥秘大肆渲染, 但靠神而行的沉默“ (见 以弗所书 19:1).

同样,, 他写, “玛丽, 许配给一个人,但尽管如此,还是处女, 顺服, 有人得救的事业,为自己和整个人类. ......因此,, 夏娃的悖逆之结也解玛丽的服从“ (看到异端邪说 3:22:4).

今, 什么天主教徒和非天主教徒叫人谁把圣体圣事是基督的肉身, 称赞罗马教会为她的教学优势, 和崇敬玛丽的童贞之谜?

为什么人应该以不同的结论任何关于一个男人和他志同道合的同时代谁说十九世纪以前做了同样的事情?

  1. 爱任纽’ 老师是圣波利卡普, 谁也约翰的弟子.

Church

Why is the Catholic Church the one, true church?

First, it is worth asking: what do Christians mean when they say the one, true church?

An image of The Triumph of the Church by Andrea di Bonaiuto da Firenze

The Triumph of the Church by Andrea di Bonaiuto da Firenze

Broadly, we mean those who believe in the Holy Trinity–God the Father; Jesus, the Son of God; and the Holy Spirit–and the tenets that Jesus taught during His Ministry. However we have to be careful because there are groups of people who consider themselves Christians, but who have added their own interpretations and ideas that go far beyond anything Jesus taught.

So, “The Church” encompasses those who follow Jesus original teachings (to various degrees), but is that what Jesus meant? To answer that question, it is necessary to examine the Sciptures.

In Matthew’s Gospel (16:18) Jesus says to Peter, “I tell you, you are Peter, and on this rock I will build my church, and the powers of hell shall not prevail against it.” Later in Matthew 28:20, Jesus assures His followers He would remain with them “always, to the end of the age.” Likewise, in John’s Gospel, Jesus promises that the Holy Spirit will be with the Church forever (14:16).

There are numerous scriptural passages that involve the Lord establishing “a kingdom that shall never be destroyed.” (For example, see the Book of Daniel (2:44), Isaiah (9:7) and the Gospel of Matthew (13:24).)

For those reasons, we can be sure that the Church Jesus founded—the one, true Church—has never fallen and has stood continuously from Saint Peter’s day until today and will remain present “to all generations, for ever and ever” (as St. Paul wrote in his Letter to the Ephesians 3:21).

This means that the Church’s teachings have survived intact because they were given to her by Christ Himself Who said, “Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will not pass away” (see Matthew 24:35 and the Prophet Isaiah 40:8).

In his First Letter to Timothy (3:15), Saint Paul goes so far as to call the Church “the pillar and bulwark of truth.” Because His Church has been professing the same doctrine for nearly 2,000 years, there is an uninterrupted historical trail linking the original community of Jesus’ disciples to its contemporary self. So, it must be possible to trace the teachings of one of the contemporary Christian bodies back through time to the days of the Apostles.

Apostolic Succession

Of all of today’s multiple and diverse Christian communities, only the Catholic Church is able to substantiate her claims of authenticity through Apostolic Succession, or the unbroken line of bishops that has faithfully carried the Apostles’ teachings from the first century to this day. This truth is supported by the body of Christianity’s ancient historical writings—the writings of the Early Church Fathers–which begin with letters composed by men who learned the Faith directly from the Apostles. These writings are readily available online or at any good library or bookstore.

Non-Catholics often deny the need for an authoritative, teaching Church, and generally looks to the Bible as its solitary source of truth, believing the Bible to be self-interpretive.

Ironically, that idea is refuted by Scripture, itself. See Saint Peter’s Second Letter (1:20-21).

Moreover, it is undermined by the fact that there are multitude of “Bible-only” sects that fundamentally disagree about what the Bible teaches! If one’s private interpretation of Christ’s teachings is fallible (and being the interpretation of a human, it would be) then historical Church writings are invaluable to gain insight into the way that the Apostles and their successors interpreted Sacred Scripture and lived out the Faith.

An Image of the Life of Saint Stephen: Ordination and Giving of Alms by Fra Angelico assisted by Benozzo Gozzoli

Life of Saint Stephen: Ordination and Giving of Alms by Fra Angelico assisted by Benozzo Gozzoli

These writings of these Early Church Fathers firmly illustrate the Catholic Church’s teaching continuity, which has been maintained despite human error and sin, persecution, and cultural pressures that would have caused an ordinary institution to abandon its core principles long ago. Remarking upon the continuity of the Catholic Church (and specifically of the Church of Rome) in the second century, Saint Irenaeus of Lyons called her “the greatest and most ancient Church known to all” in Against Heresies 3:3:2.

Note that a variety of theories have been concocted over the years on the part of the Church’s opponents to attempt to explain her origin—or explain it away one might say. The most common such theory alleges Catholicism came into being in the fourth century, around the time the Emperor Constantine the Great legalized Christianity throughout the Roman Empire. This theory holds that a large portion of the Christian Church eventually became corrupted by pagan influences due to a huge influx of converts. Of course, the insurmountable obstacle to this theory is the presence of Catholic doctrine in the ecclesiastical writings that predate Constantine, and the historical writings of the Early Church Fathers demonstrate this in a powerful way.

An image of Life of Saint Stephen: Expulsion and Stoning by Fra Angelico assisted by Benozzo Gozzoli

Life of Saint Stephen: Expulsion and Stoning by Fra Angelico assisted by Benozzo Gozzoli

The overt Catholicity of Christianity’s ancient writers is irrefutable.

Consider, for example, Saint Ignatius of Antioch, who died around the year 107. Ignatius was a pupil of the Apostles Peter and John and used the Church’s Eucharistic teaching to combat heretics who denied the Incarnation.

He has the distinction of being the earliest writer on record to use the term “catholic” as a proper name for the Church. “Wherever the bishop appears, let the people be there,” he wrote; “just as wherever Jesus Christ is, there is the Catholic Church.”

Coincidentally, Antioch, Ignatius’ bishopric, happens also to be the place where the followers of Christ were first called “Christians” (see the Acts of the Apostles 11:26).

An image of the Adoration of the Holy Trinity by Albrecht Durer

Adoration of the Holy Trinity by Albrecht Durer

The earliest written usage of the word “Trinity” comes from Antioch, too. Appearing in a letter of another bishop, Saint Theophilus, in about 181 (see To Autolycus 2:15), Saint Irenaeus wrote, “If the Lord were from other than the Father, how could He rightly take bread, which is of the same creation as our own, and confess it to be His Body, and affirm that the mixture in the cup is His ?” (see Heresies 4:33:2).1

So, how can others reconcile their disdain for the Church of Rome with Ignatius’ acknowledgement of her preeminence? He called her “the Church which holds the presidency in the place of the country of the Romans …;” and went on to say, “You have envied no one, but others you have taught. I desire only that what you have enjoined in your instructions may remain in force” (Romans, Address; 3:1).

Irenaeus listed the bishops of Rome down to his time, commenting, “In this order, and by the teaching of the Apostles handed down in the Church, the preaching of the truth has come down to us” (see Heresies 3:3:3).

Some may be dismayed by Ignatius’ mention of Marian doctrine in the same breath as the Crucifixion? “The virginity of Mary,” he wrote, “her giving birth, and also the death of the Lord, were hidden from the prince of this world:—three mysteries loudly proclaimed, but wrought in the silence of God” (see Ephesians 19:1).

Likewise, he writes, “Mary, betrothed to a man but nevertheless still a virgin, being obedient, was made the cause of salvation for herself and for the whole human race. … Thus, the knot of Eve’s disobedience was loosed by the obedience of Mary” (see Heresies 3:22:4).

Today, what would Catholics and non-Catholics call a person who regarded the Eucharist as the Flesh of Christ, praised the Church of Rome for her teaching superiority, and venerated the mystery of Mary’s virginity?

Why should one conclude anything differently about a man and his like-minded contemporaries who said and did the same things nineteen centuries ago?

  1.  Irenaeus’ teacher was Saint Polycarp, who was also a disciple of John’s.