炼狱, 宽恕, 后果

… 要么, 到底是什么炼狱?

后果? 总有一些后果!

Image of the Last Judgment by Segna di Buonaventure炼狱是不是天堂还是地狱替代. 这是一个暂时的状态,通过它 一些 灵魂必须通过进入天堂之前收到最终纯化 (查看 启示录 21:27). 由于梵二教, 炼狱的存在是因为 “甚至当的罪恶已被带走, 惩罚它或它的后果可能仍有待赎或清洗” (WE 3).

同样,, 该 天主教教理 状态, “所有谁在上帝的恩典和友谊死亡, 但还是不完全纯化, 确实保证他们永远得救; 但死后,他们经过净化, 从而达到所需的圣洁进入天堂的喜悦” (1030, p. 268). “在炼狱,”写的辩护卡尔·基廷, “自我的所有剩余的爱转化为对神的爱” (天主教, p. 190).

教会重视耶稣’ 在命令 马修 5:48 以“完美, 如同你们的天父是完美的,”并保持快速 以信Hebrews'12:14 教导, “追求与众人和睦, 并没有没有人会看到上帝的圣洁“。

还有, 教会接受圣经真理的精神完美是需要准入天堂, 每我们上面提到的 预订启示 (21:27), “没有不洁净的不得进入它。”

事实上, 上帝拒绝让摩西越境进入应许之地作为惩罚他不忠与此相一致的信念 (见 申命记 32:48).

同样, 在圣经中还有更多的刺痛故事的一个说明这一概念的宽恕和后果. 这是一种大卫的故事和先知拿他们讨论与拔​​示巴在大卫的不良行为 塞缪尔的第二本书, 12:1-14:

2 塞缪尔 12

12:1 耶和华差遣拿大卫. 而当他来到他, 他对他说:: “有两个人是在一个城市: 一个富裕, 是穷人.
12:2 有钱的人有很多的羊和牛.
12:3 但是可怜的人有什么都没有, 除了一个小绵羊, 这是他买来营养. 她在他之前已经长大了, 连同他的孩子, 从他的面包吃, 并从他的杯子喝, 而在他怀里睡觉. 她就像一个女儿嫁给他.
12:4 但是,当某个旅客已经到了富人, 忽略从自己的牛羊取, 所以,他可能呈现盛宴为旅客, 谁曾来找他, 他把穷人的羊, 他准备了谁曾来他的人一顿饭。”
12:5 大卫的愤慨是极其愤怒向那人, 他对拿单说: “作为主生活, 谁做了这个男人是死亡的儿子.
12:6 他要恢复羊四倍, 因为他做了这个词, 他并没有怜惜“。
12:7 但拿单对大卫说:: “你是男人. 耶和华如此说, 以色列的神: “我膏你作以色列的王, 我救你脱离扫罗的手.
12:8 我给你主人的房子给你, 和你的主人的妻子到你的怀里. 而我给了以色列犹大和的房子给你. 而且好像这些事都是小, 我大得多的东西添加到您.
12:9 故, 你为什么藐视耶和华的话, 所以,你没有在我眼前的邪恶? 你已经打倒了赫人乌利亚与剑. 而你已经采取了他的妻子为自己的妻子. 而你已经把他的死亡与亚扪人的剑.
12:10 为此原因, 剑不得从你的房子退出, 甚至永远, 因为你藐视我, 你已经采取赫人乌利亚的妻子, 这样她可能是你的妻子“。
12:11 所以, 耶和华如此说: “看哪!, 我会从你自己的房子兴起了你的邪恶. 而且我会接受你的妻子走在你的眼前, 我会给他们你的邻居. 他将与你们的妻子睡在日光之下的.
12:12 对于你偷偷行事. 但我会在以色列众人眼前的做这个字, 和视线太阳“。”
12:13 大卫对拿单说, “我得罪了主。”拿单对大卫说:: “耶和华也带走了你的罪. 你不会死.
12:14 然而,真正的, 因为你给了机会主的敌人亵渎, 因为这个词的, 谁是你们生的儿子: 临终,他必死“。

宽恕与后果

拔示巴与大卫和拿单的故事告诉我们,对罪的性质和上帝的怜悯很大. 大卫, 谁是主的心爱的国王,并可能看起来不会有错, 犯了罪可怕. 神渴望并愿意原谅和恢复, 但必须有后果.

为罪的后果罪的影响往往是基督徒之间的争论. 我们可能不知道, 究竟是什么,如果影响和后果, 事实上, 所有罪被赎在十字架上? 一个曾经一直致力于人类一切的罪被基督自己的牺牲赎罪, 但是,这并不意味着罪的影响被否定–当然这辈子. 认为任何数量的罪的 (和罪行) 如谋杀, 纵火和袭击. 他们都有着非常长久的尘世影响. 这么, 然后宽恕, 并不一定意味着其后果被删除.

宽恕, 但处罚

为了理解惩罚如何能保持自己的罪已经被赦免后,即使, 有必要区分 永恒 惩罚.

永恒 惩罚犯罪是地狱. 一个是从这个处罚由上帝拯救他时,–罪人–悔改并承认这些罪. 然而,即使一个人被原谅, 处罚可能会保持这也必须被赎.

认为, 例如, 丈夫谁是不忠的妻子. 悔恨的感觉, 他立志要改变他的方式,并承认他做了什么. 他的老婆, 在她的善良, 原谅他, 然而, 它可能是很长一段时间之前,她将再次信任他. 他将需要重新获得她的信任, 医治他在他们的关系造成的伤口. 当我们犯罪,我们伤害了我们与神和他人的关系.

一个进入天堂之前,这些伤口必须愈合. 当然, 这种治疗发生上帝的恩典 通过 耶稣的死在十字架上的优劣. 炼狱, 虽然, 还有我们做地球上的修行, 是神使我们的方式参与在愈合过程中,我们采取我们已经做了错误的责任.

要明确, 炼狱无关罪得赦免,因为 在炼狱中灵魂的罪已经被赦免. 这么, 要求教会的教导在炼狱涉及它是假的 盈利 上帝的宽恕. 重新, 这些灵魂被保存, 但他们进入天堂被延迟. 正如圣保禄指出,他 首字母科林蒂安, “当我们被上帝判断, 我们学乖了,使我们可以不与世人一同定罪一起。” “因为耶和华管教他,他爱谁, 并严厉批评他的人接受每儿子” (见 希伯来书 12:5-6 和 5:8-9).

卡尔·亚当或许给了炼狱的最succient描述如下;

可怜的灵魂, 混不下去利用这个世界的更轻松,更快乐的忏悔, 现在必须忍受所有的辛酸和所有这一切都必然受到神的公义的不可抵抗的规律连接的可怕惩罚连起码的罪, 直到她已经尝到罪去其糟粕的苦难和失去哪怕是最小的依恋它, 直到基督的爱的完美. 这是一个漫长而痛苦的过程, “这样火。”这是真的火? 我们不能告诉; 它的真实本性肯定会始终保持与我们在这个世界上隐藏. 但我们知道这: 没有罚于“可怜的灵魂”的意识按下这么辛苦,他们是通过自己的过错,从神的祝福长期愿景被取消资格. 越多他们从自己狭隘的自我逐渐分离,在其存在的整个指南针, 和更加自由,完全他们的心是开放的神, 这么多的更多的是他们的分离精神化的辛酸与理想化. 这是他们的父亲的思乡之情; 和另外的它们的纯化进行, 更痛苦的是自己的灵魂与火的杠鞭打...

净化和清洁

虽然每个基督徒认为自己是一个罪人, 同时,他认为他将成为自由罪 (甚至倾斜度犯罪) 在天堂. 故, 净化过程必须死后,有, 通过该灵魂容易发生罪转化为灵魂不透它.

有迹象表明,暗示死后罪赎罪的形式很多经文.

炼狱的旧约概念

在旧约中有犹大·马加比的帐户谁 “死者赎罪, 他们可能从他们的罪恶交付” (见 马加比二书 12:46).

西拉奇书, 7:33, 状态, “慷慨地给所有的生活, 并且不向死了都不好意。” 这俩 马加比二书 西拉奇 包括七个经书之中, 其中许多非天主教徒拒绝. 然而,即使一个不相信这些书被神启发, 他至少应该考虑他们提供的历史见证. 他们肯定了古代以色列人’ 祈祷死者的灵魂的做法. 这是由属实 塞缪尔的第二本书 1:12, 这告诉我们,大卫和他的部下 “悲哀哭号禁食到晚上 (主的士兵) 因为他们已经倒在刀下。”

在新约

保罗说出在死者祈祷他 第二封信蒂莫西, 他说他的已故朋友阿尼色弗的, “愿主赐他从主,一天发现怜悯” (1:18).

最明确的圣经参考炼狱也来自保罗的 首字母科林蒂安:

3:11 因为没有人能打好任何其他基础, 在地方,其中已经奠定, 这是基督耶稣.
3:12 但如果有人是建立在这个基础, 无论是金, 银, 珍贵的石头, 木, 那里, 或茬,
3:13 每个人的工作必然显露. 对于主的日子应宣布它, 因为它会火发现. 这火要试验每个人的工作, 因为它是什么样的.
3:14 如果任何人的工作, 他已经在它之上构建, 遗迹, 那么他将获得奖励.
3:15 如果任何人的工程若被烧了, 他将遭受其损失, 但他自己仍然会被保存, 但只能通过火.

韵文 13 指的是审判日, 当我们的作品会被人知道. 黄金, 银, 和宝石在诗 12 代表作品立功; 木头, 那里, 而茬, 不完美的作品.

这两个案件涉及在耶稣基督的基础基督教建筑. 在第一种情况下, 基督徒在生活中所开展的工作生存的判断,他就直接去他的天上的赏赐, 即, 诗 14. 在后一种情况下, 基督徒的工作不下去了,他 “遭受(小号) 失利,” 虽然, 由上帝的怜悯, 是不是自己丢失,但保存 “通过火” 在诗 15.

马修 12:32 耶稣似乎暗示有赔偿超越死亡罪: “谁说话冒犯圣灵不会被原谅, 无论是在这个年龄或 在年龄来” (进一步强调). 见教皇圣格雷戈里大, 对话 4:40 圣奥古斯丁, 上帝之城 21:24 相关材料.

在别处, 耶稣意味着一些死者应进行不同程度的处罚时间的 (见 卢克 12:47-48).

早期基督教文献炼狱

在古老的墓地,如发现铭文 墓志铭 Abercius马塞勒斯 (CA. 190), 例如, 求忠实,为死者祈祷.

在这一年等待殉难在地牢中迦太基 203, Vibia佩蓓每天为她祈祷死者的哥哥, 狄诺克拉底, 收到他的视力在痛苦的状态.

不久她死前, 它透露给她,他进入天堂. “我知道,” 她说, “他已经从处罚公布” (永久和费利西塔斯殉难 2:4).

最深刻, 我们可以看到代表死者提供圣体圣事的牺牲的早期基督教的做法. 特土良 (ð. CA. 240), 例如, 揭示了虔诚的遗孀如何祈求她的丈夫的灵魂安息, 如何 “每年, 在他的忌日, 她提供的牺牲” (一夫一妻制 10:4).

在他的 Sacramentary, 约会中期十四世纪, 谢拉皮翁, Thmuis主教, 恳求上帝, “代表所有的离去,” 至 “圣所有谁在主睡着了 (APOC. 14:13) 并计数所有您的圣徒的行列,并给了他们一个地方,住所 (约翰· 14:2) 在你的王国” (该Sacramentary, 照应 要么 圣体圣事牺牲祈祷 13:5).

那么,这是否离开我们?

有些人可能会问, “如果一个人必须是完美的,进入天堂, 谁那么可以保存?”当使徒提出耶稣同样的问题, 他回答, “在人这是不可能的, 但与上帝的所有事情都是可能的” (看到马修 19:25-26).

作为天主教徒, 我们认为通过的可能性存在炼狱.

Purgatory, Forgiveness, Consequences

… or, What the Heck is Purgatory?

Consequences? There Are Always Consequences!

Image of the Last Judgment by Segna di BuonaventurePurgatory is not an alternative to heaven or hell. It is a temporary state through which some souls must pass to receive a final purification before entering heaven (See the Book of Revelation 21:27). As the Second Vatican Council taught, purgatory exists because “even when the guilt of sin has been taken away, punishment for it or the consequences of it may remain to be expiated or cleansed” (Indulgentiarum Doctrina 3).

Likewise, the Catechism of the Catholic Church states, “All who die in God’s grace and friendship, but still imperfectly purified, are indeed assured of their eternal salvation; but after death they undergo purification, so as to achieve the holiness necessary to enter the joy of heaven” (1030, p. 268). “In purgatory,” writes apologist Karl Keating, “all remaining love of self is transformed into love of God” (Catholicism, p. 190).

The Church takes seriously Jesus’ command in Matthew 5:48 to “be perfect, as your heavenly Father is perfect,” and holds fast to The Letter to the Hebrews’12:14 that teaches, “Strive for peace with all men, and for the holiness without which no one will see the Lord.”

Moreover, the Church accepts the biblical truth that spiritual perfection is required for admittance into heaven, for per our above reference to the Book the Revelation (21:27), “nothing unclean shall enter it.”

In fact, God’s refusal to allow Moses to cross into the Promised Land as punishment for his infidelity is consistent with this belief (see Deuteronomy 32:48).

Similarly, one of the more stinging stories in scripture well illustrates this notion forgiveness and consequences. It is the story of Kind David and the prophet Nathan as they discuss David’s misdeed with Bathsheba in the Second Book of Samuel, 12:1-14:

2 Samuel 12

12:1 Then the Lord sent Nathan to David. And when he had come to him, he said to him: “Two men were in one city: one wealthy, and the other poor.
12:2 The wealthy man had very many sheep and oxen.
12:3 But the poor man had nothing at all, except one little sheep, which he had bought and nourished. And she had grown up before him, together with his children, eating from his bread, and drinking from his cup, and sleeping in his bosom. And she was like a daughter to him.
12:4 But when a certain traveler had come to the wealthy man, neglecting to take from his own sheep and oxen, so that he might present a feast for that traveler, who had come to him, he took the sheep of the poor man, and he prepared a meal for the man who had come to him.”
12:5 Then David’s indignation was enraged exceedingly against that man, and he said to Nathan: “As the Lord lives, the man who has done this is a son of death.
12:6 He shall restore the sheep fourfold, because he did this word, and he did not take pity.”
12:7 But Nathan said to David: “You are that man. Thus says the Lord, the God of Israel: ‘I anointed you as king over Israel, and I rescued you from the hand of Saul.
12:8 And I gave the house of your lord to you, and the wives of your lord into your bosom. And I gave the house of Israel and of Judah to you. And as if these things were small, I shall add much greater things to you.
12:9 Therefore, why have you despised the word of the Lord, so that you did evil in my sight? You have struck down Uriah the Hittite with the sword. And you have taken his wife as a wife for yourself. And you have put him to death with the sword of the sons of Ammon.
12:10 For this reason, the sword shall not withdraw from your house, even perpetually, because you have despised me, and you have taken the wife of Uriah the Hittite, so that she may be your wife.’
12:11 And so, thus says the Lord: ‘Behold, I will raise up over you an evil from your own house. And I will take your wives away before your eyes, and I will give them to your neighbor. And he will sleep with your wives in the sight of this sun.
12:12 For you acted secretly. But I will do this word in the sight of all of Israel, and in the sight of the sun.’ ”
12:13 And David said to Nathan, “I have sinned against the Lord.” And Nathan said to David: “The Lord has also taken away your sin. You shall not die.
12:14 Yet truly, because you have given occasion to the enemies of the Lord to blaspheme, because of this word, the son who was born to you: dying he shall die.”

Forgiveness and Consequences

The story of Bathsheba and David and Nathan tells us a great deal about the nature of sin and the mercy of God. David, who is the Lord’s beloved king and could seemingly do no wrong, committed a horrible sin. God was eager and willing to forgive and restore, but there had to be consequences.

Consequences for sin and the effects of sin are often debated among Christians. We may wonder, what exactly are the effects and consequences if, in fact, all sin was atoned on the cross?  Every sin that has ever been committed by humans was atoned by the sacrifice of Christ himself, but that doesn’t mean that the effects of sin are negated–certainly not in this life.  Think of any number of sins (and crimes) like murder, arson and assault. They all have very long-lasting earthly implications. So, forgiveness then, does not necessarily mean that the consequences are removed.

Forgiveness, yet Punishment

To understand how punishment could remain even after one’s sins have been forgiven, it is necessary to distinguish between eternal and temporal punishment.

The eternal punishment for sin is hell. One is saved from this punishment by God when he–the sinner–repents and confesses those sins. Yet even after a person is forgiven, temporal punishment may remain which also must be expiated.

Consider, for example, the husband who is unfaithful to his wife. Feeling remorse, he resolves to change his ways and confess what he has done. His wife, in her goodness, forgives him, however, it may be a long time before she will trust him again. He will need to regain her trust, to heal the wound he has caused in their relationship. When we sin we hurt our relationship with God and others.

These wounds must be healed before one enters into heaven. Of course, this healing occurs by the grace of God through the merits of Jesus Christ’s death on the Cross. Purgatory, though, as well as the penances we do on earth, are God’s ways of allowing us to participate in the healing process as we take responsibility for the wrong we have done.

To be clear, Purgatory has nothing to do with the forgiveness of sin because the sins of the souls in purgatory have already been forgiven. So, it is false to claim the Church’s teaching on purgatory involves earning God’s forgiveness. Again, these souls are saved, but their entry into heaven is delayed. As Saint Paul noted in his First Letter to the Corinthians, “When we are judged by the Lord, we are chastened so that we may not be condemned along with the world.” “For the Lord disciplines him who he loves, and chastises every son whom he receives” (see the Letter to the Hebrews 12:5-6 and 5:8-9).

Carl Adam perhaps gave the most succient description of purgatory as follows;

The poor soul, having failed to make use of the easier and happier penance of this world, must now endure all the bitterness and all the dire penalties which are necessarily attached by the inviolable law of God’s justice to even the least sin, until she has tasted the wretchedness of sin to its dregs and has lost even the smallest attachment to it, until the perfection of the love of Christ. It is a long and painful process, “so as by fire.” Is it real fire?  We cannot tell; it’s true nature will certainly always remain hidden from us in this world.  But we know this: that no penalty presses so hard upon the “poor souls” as the consciousness that they are by their own fault long debarred from the blessed Vision of God.  The more they are disengaged gradually in the whole compass of their being from their narrow selves, and the more freely and completely their hearts are open to God, so much the more is the bitterness of their separation spiritualized and transfigured.  It is homesickness for their Father; and the further their purification proceeds, the more painfully are their souls scourged with its rods of fire…

Purification and Cleansing

While every Christian considers himself a sinner, at the same time he believes he will be free of sin (and even the inclination to sin) in Heaven. Therefore, a purification process must exist after death, by which the soul prone to sin is transformed into a soul impervious to it.

There are many Scripture passages that allude to a form of expiation of sin after death.

The Notion of Purgatory in the Old Testament

In the Old Testament there is the account of Judas Maccabeus who “made atonement for the dead, that they might be delivered from their sin” (see the Second Book of Maccabees 12:46).

The Book of Sirach, 7:33, states, “Give graciously to all the living, and withhold not kindness from the dead.” Both the Second Book of Maccabees and Sirach are included among the seven deuterocanonical books, which many non-Catholics reject. Yet even if one does not believe these books to be inspired by God, he should at least consider the historical witness they provide. They affirm the ancient Israelites’ practice of praying for the souls of the deceased. This is substantiated by Second Book of Samuel 1:12, which tells us David and his men “mourned and wept and fasted until evening for (the soldiers of the Lord) because they had fallen by the sword.”

In the New Testament

Paul utters a prayer for the dead in his Second Letter to Timothy, saying of his deceased friend Onesiphorus, “May the Lord grant him to find mercy from the Lord that Day” (1:18).

The most explicit Scriptural reference to purgatory also comes from Paul’s First Letter to the Corinthians:

3:11 For no one is able to lay any other foundation, in place of that which has been laid, which is Christ Jesus.
3:12 But if anyone builds upon this foundation, whether gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, or stubble,
3:13 each one’s work shall be made manifest. For the day of the Lord shall declare it, because it will be revealed by fire. And this fire will test each one’s work, as to what kind it is.
3:14 If anyone’s work, which he has built upon it, remains, then he will receive a reward.
3:15 If anyone’s work is burned up, he will suffer its loss, but he himself will still be saved, but only as through fire.

Verse 13 refers to Judgment Day, when our works will be made known. The gold, silver, and precious stones in verse 12 represent meritorious works; the wood, hay, and stubble, imperfect works.

Both cases involve a Christian building upon the foundation of Jesus Christ. In the first case, the work the Christian has carried out in life survives judgment and he goes directly to his heavenly reward, i.e., verse 14. In the latter case, the Christian’s work does not survive and he “suffer(s) loss,” though, by God’s mercy, is not himself lost but saved “as through fire” in verse 15.

In Matthew 12:32 Jesus seems to imply there is reparation for sin beyond death: “Whoever speaks against the Holy Spirit will not be forgiven, either in this age or in the age to come” (emphasis added). See Pope Saint Gregory the Great, Dialogues 4:40 and Saint Augustine, The City of God 21:24 for related material.

Elsewhere, Jesus implies that some of the deceased shall undergo varying degrees of temporal punishment (see Luke 12:47-48).

Early Christian References to Purgatory

Inscriptions found at ancient gravesites such as the Epitaph of Abercius Marcellus (ca. 190), for example, beg the faithful to pray for the deceased.

Awaiting martyrdom in a dungeon in Carthage in the year 203, Vibia Perpetua prayed daily for her deceased brother, Dinocrates, having received a vision of him in a state of suffering.

Shortly before her death, it was revealed to her that he had entered into paradise. “I knew,” she remarked, “that he had been released from punishment” (The Martyrdom of Perpetual and Felicitas 2:4).

Most profoundly, we see the early Christian practice of offering the Eucharistic Sacrifice on behalf of the dead. Tertullian (d. ca. 240), for instance, revealed how the devout widow prays for the repose of her husband’s soul, and how “each year, on the anniversary of his death, she offers the sacrifice” (Monogamy 10:4).

In his Sacramentary, dating to the mid-fourth century, Serapion, the Bishop of Thmuis, beseeched God, “on behalf of all the departed,” to “sanctify all who have fallen asleep in the Lord (Apoc. 14:13) and count them all among the ranks of Your saints and given them a place and abode (John 14:2) in Your kingdom” (The Sacramentary, Anaphora or Prayer of the Eucharistic Sacrifice 13:5).

So Where Does that Leave Us?

Some might ask, “If one must be perfect to enter Heaven, who then can be saved?” When the Apostles posed the same question to Jesus, He responded, “With men this is impossible, but with God all things are possible” (see Matthew 19:25-26).

As Catholics, we would argue that possibility exists through Purgatory.