Крещение

The Baptism of Christ by Fra AngelicoЧто крещение?

Это духовное очищение водой.

Для креститься, чтобы человек родился вновь, получить благодать освящения, какой подарок Божий духовной жизни. Иисус показал связь между верой и крещением, когда он преподавал, "Тот, кто считает, что и креститься, спасен будет; но тот, кто не будет веровать, осужден будет " (посмотреть Евангелие от Марка, 16:16). "Поистине, действительно, Я говорю вам,,"Он заявляет,, "Если кто не родится из воды и Духа, он не может войти в Царствие Божие " (Иоанна 3:5; курсив).

Сам Иисус, хотя безгрешным, был крещен Иоанна в начале Его общественного служения; посмотреть Евангелие от Матфея, 3:13. Заметка: Иисус был безгрешен, потому что он был полностью-Бог и полностью человек. Это бывший, Не последней, что важно. Потому что он был полностью Бог-его мысли и действия должны были быть–по определению, можно сказать,–так же, как Бог. (Он был Богом, в конце концов.)

Так, зачем ему нужно креститься? Он не сделал, но, как Святого Амвросия в Милане объяснил в четвертом веке, "Господь был крещен, не очистится Себя, но для очищения воды, так что эти воды, очищены от плоти Христа, которая не знал никакого греха, может иметь силу Крещения " (Комментарий на Евангелие от Луки 2:83).

The Baptism of Saint Augustine by Nicolo di PietroПеред вознесением на небо, Иисус вновь свое послание апостолов, "Итак, идите, научите все народы, крестя их во имя Отца и Сына и Святого Духа, уча их соблюдать все, что Я повелел вам " (Мф 28:19-20).

Несколько дней спустя, в день Пятидесятницы, Святой Петр обращается к толпе. В конце своей проповеди, он спросил, "Что нам следует сделать?

Петр отвечает, "Покайтесь, и да крестится каждый из вас во имя Иисуса Христа для прощения грехов; и вы получите дар Святого Духа. Ибо вам принадлежит обетование вам и детям вашим и всем дальним, каждый, кого Господь Бог наш призыв к ним " (Деяния Апостолов, 2:38-39).

Для Апостольской Церкви, Крещение было ворота христианской жизни (Деяния 8:12, 38; 9:18; 10:48). В дополнение, в Акты 8:37, Эфиопская евнух, получив Евангелие от Филиппа Санкт, выражает желание Крещения. Точно так же, в Деяниях 16:33, Павел и Сила крестить филиппийской тюремщика и всю его семью "без промедления". Рассказывая свою конверсию, Павел вспоминает, что Анания сказал ему, "А теперь, почему вы ждете? Взлет и креститься, и смыть свои грехи, призвав имя Господа " (Акты 22:16). Павел говорит Ефесянам, что "Христос возлюбил Церковь и предал Себя за нее, что он может освятить ее, очистив ее омовением воды со словом " (Письмо Павла к Ефесянам, 5:25-26; курсив). В его Письмо к Титу, Пола wrotes мы спасены "в бане возрождения".

Image of the Baptism of Christ by Gerard DavidРанние христианские писания утверждают, исторические возрождение через воды крещения. Примерно год 150, например, Санкт Джастин сказал, что те, кто были креститься "внесены нас там, где есть вода, и возрождается в том же порядке, в котором мы сами возрождается. ... Ибо Христос также сказал,, "Если кто не родится снова, он не вступает в Царство Небесное " (Джон 3:3)" (Во-первых Апология 61).

Вокруг года 200, Санкт Климент Александрийский писал, "Когда мы крестимся, мы просвещены. Будучи просвещенным, мы приняты в качестве сыновей. Принято сыновьями, мы достигли совершенства. Сделано идеально, мы стали бессмертными. ... Это стиральная с помощью которого мы очищаемся от грехов ... " (Инструктор детей 1:6:26:1, 2). Примерно 217, Санкт Ипполит Римский говорил о пришествии Христа в мир и Его "проявления крещением, и новое рождение, что было бы для всех людей, и регенерация умывальник " (Рассуждение о Конце Света 1). Примерно 250, Санкт Киприан Карфагенский показал, "Когда пятно моей прошлой жизни были смыты с помощью воды возрождения, свет сверху заливают себя на моем наказал, и теперь чистого сердца; после через Духа, который дышал с небес, второе рождение сделал из меня нового человека " (Письмо Доната 4).

Image of Ark of Noah on Mount Ararat attributed to Hieronymus BoschОбратите внимание, что Таинство Крещения прототипом всей Ветхого Завета. В Книге Бытия 1:2, написано, что при создании, "Дух Божий ... движется по поверхности вод,"И древний наводнение, которое очищают землю оба крещения метафоры. Как писал святой Петр, "В дни Ноя, во время строительства ковчега ... несколько, тхат ИС, восемь человек, были спасены через воды. Крещение, что соответствует этим, Теперь спасает вас, не как удаления грязи с тела, но как призыв к Богу за чистой совестью, через воскресение Иисуса Христа " (см первое письмо Петра, 3:20-21; курсив).

Инструкция пророка Елисея сирийского генерала Неемана, которые пришли к нему стремится лекарство проказы, указывает на крещении возрождения. "Иди и мыть в семь раз Джордан,"Пророк говорит ему, "Ваша и плоть ваша должна быть восстановлена, и вы должны быть чистыми " (Смотрите второй книге Царств 5:10 и Левит, 14:7). Как он пишет в своем Первом послании к Коринфянам (10:2), Сент-Пол видит фигуры Крещения в облаке огня и дыма, который сопровождал израильтян в пустыне, и в водах Красного моря, через которые они прошли. (Он также говорит о Старо-Завета обряд обрезания в качестве предшественника Крещения в Послании к Колоссянам (2:11-12).

Baptism

The Baptism of Christ by Fra AngelicoWhat is baptism?

It is spiritual cleansing with water.

To be baptized is to one is born again, to receive sanctifying grace, which God’s gift of spiritual life. Jesus revealed the connection between faith and Baptism, when he taught, “He who believes and is baptized will be saved; but he who does not believe will be condemned” (see the Gospel of Mark, 16:16). “Truly, truly, I say to you,” He declares, “unless one is born of water and the Spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of God” (See John 3:5; emphasis added).

Jesus Himself, though sinless, was baptized by Saint John at the start of His public ministry; see the Gospel of Matthew, 3:13. Note: Jesus was sinless because he was wholly-God and wholly-man. It’s the former, not the latter that is important. Because he was wholly-God his thoughts and actions had to be–by definition one could say–the same as God’s. (He was God, after all.)

So, why would he need to be baptized? He didn’t, but as Saint Ambrose of Milan explained in the fourth century, “The Lord was baptized, not to be cleansed Himself but to cleanse the waters, so that those waters, cleansed by the flesh of Christ which knew no sin, might have the power of Baptism” (Commentary on the Gospel of Luke 2:83).

The Baptism of Saint Augustine by Nicolo di PietroBefore ascending to heaven, Jesus reiterated his message to the Apostles, “Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you” (see Matthew 28:19-20).

A few days later, at Pentecost, Saint Peter is speaking to a crowd. At the end of his sermon, he is asked, “What shall we do?

Peter replies, “Repent, and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins; and you shall receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. For the promise is to you and to your children and to all that are far off, every one whom the Lord our God calls to him” (Acts of the Apostles, 2:38-39).

For the Apostolic Church, Baptism was the gateway to Christian life (see Acts 8:12, 38; 9:18; 10:48). In addition, in Acts 8:37, the Ethiopian eunuch, having received the Gospel from Saint Philip, expresses the desire for Baptism. Likewise, in Acts 16:33, Paul and Silas baptize the Philippian jailer and his entire household “without delay.” Recounting his own conversion, Paul remembers that Ananias had said to him, “And now why do you wait? Rise and be baptized, and wash away your sins, calling on his name” (Acts 22:16). Paul tells the Ephesians that “Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her, that he might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the word” (Paul’s Letter to the Ephesians, 5:25-26; emphasis added). In his Letter to Titus, the Paul wrotes we are saved “by the bath of rebirth.”

Image of the Baptism of Christ by Gerard DavidThe early Christian historical writings affirm rebirth through water Baptism. In about the year 150, for instance, Saint Justin said those who were to be baptized “ are brought by us where there is water, and are reborn in the same manner in which we were ourselves reborn. … For Christ also said, ‘Unless one is born again, he shall not enter into the kingdom of heaven’ (John 3:3)” (First Apology 61).

Around the year 200, Saint Clement of Alexandria wrote, “When we are baptized, we are enlightened. Being enlightened, we are adopted as sons. Adopted as sons, we are made perfect. Made perfect, we are become immortal. … It is a washing by which we are cleansed of sins …” (The Instructor of Children 1:6:26:1, 2). In about 217, Saint Hippolytus of Rome spoke of the advent of Christ to the world “and His manifestation by baptism, and the new birth that was to be to all men, and the regeneration of the laver” (Discourse on the End of the World 1). In about 250, Saint Cyprian of Carthage revealed, “When the stain of my past life had been washed away by means of the water of rebirth, a light from above poured itself upon my chastened and now pure heart; afterwards through the Spirit which is breathed from heaven, a second birth made of me a new man” (Letter to Donatus 4).

Image of Ark of Noah on Mount Ararat attributed to Hieronymus BoschNote that the Sacrament of Baptism is prefigured throughout the Old Testament. In Genesis 1:2, it is written that at Creation, “The Spirit of God … moving over the face of the waters,” and the ancient flood that purified the earth are both baptismal metaphors. As Saint Peter wrote, “In the days of Noah, during the building of the ark … a few, that is, eight persons, were saved through water. Baptism, which corresponds to this, now saves you, not as a removal of dirt from the body but as an appeal to God for a clear conscience, through the resurrection of Jesus Christ” (see Peter’s first letter, 3:20-21; emphasis added).

The Prophet Elisha’s instruction to the Syrian general Naaman, who had come to him seeking a cure for his leprosy, points to baptismal rebirth. “Go and wash in the Jordan seven times,” the prophet tells him, “and your flesh shall be restored, and you shall be clean” (see the Second Book of Kings 5:10 and Leviticus, 14:7). As he writes in his First Letter to the Corinthians (10:2), Saint Paul sees figures of Baptism in the cloud of fire and smoke that accompanied the Israelites through the wilderness and in the waters of the Red Sea through which they passed. (He also speaks of the Old-Covenant rite of circumcision as the precursor of Baptism in his Letter to the Colossians (2:11-12).