祈禱瑪麗

Image of Madonna of Humility by Gentile-da-Fabrianor有可能是信仰天主教的沒有一個方面更廣泛的誤解比奉獻給聖母瑪利亞, 它可以出現一些基督徒作為偶像崇拜的一種形式.

要正確理解這種奉獻, 必須榮譽和崇拜區分. 簡而言之, 我們 榮譽 瑪麗和聖徒, 但 崇拜 只有上帝. 根據聖經, 崇拜的本質不是 祈禱, 還有, 但 犧牲祭 (見 出埃及記 20:24; 瑪拉基 1:11; 和 Paul’s First Letter to the Corinthians 10:14-21, 等。). 天主教徒祈禱聖徒, 但獻祭給神獨, 彌撒即聖祭!

正如我們在其他地方解釋, 祈禱聖徒 僅僅是一個的方式來問那些誰已經擺在我們面前祈禱與我們,給我們–就像我們要求在地球上信徒做.

羅馬天主教和東正教奉獻給瑪麗涉及超過祈禱, 雖然. What of the high status which Catholics and Orthodox assign to her? Is is right to so exalt a mere human being?

We believe that no one could possibly exalt Mary more than God did when He chose her to be the Mother of His Son. 在探視的福音場景, 聖伊麗莎白對她說, “祝福你在婦女中, 並祝福是你的子宮的果實! 為什麼是這樣答應了我, 我主的母親竟然到我這裡來?” (盧克 1:41-43). In that same passage, 瑪麗驚嘆, “看哪, 從今以後,萬代要稱我有福” (1:48).

有時候,那些誰反對這麼高小麗的觀點將列舉的情節 路加福音 其中一名女子在人群中召喚出耶穌, “有福的是煩你了子宮, 而且你吸乳房!”; 對此他回應, “Blesssed而那些誰聽神的話,並把它” (11:27-28). We need to be careful not to interpret a particular verse of the Bible out of the context. 供, 正如我們剛才看到的, 瑪麗的幸福在別處肯定 盧克. 事實上, 在本書的第一章中, 伊麗莎白說,瑪麗, “有福是誰,她相信會有履行什麼跟她說過話,從主” (1:45). 這些是基本相同的話基督購買用於鑑別真幸福: “有福了,而那些誰聽神的話,並保持它。” 於 盧克 11:28, 然後, 上帝並沒有否認瑪麗的祝福狀態, 但澄清對我們的真正原因吧: 她完美的信念和順服神的話語.

Image of Parting from Saint John by Duccio di Buoninsegna基督是我們的一位中保神, 並且他呼籲他的追隨者和他一起奇異調解分享, to, as the Bible says, 成為 “神同工” 聖徒保羅在陳述他 第一個字母科林蒂安 3:9.

耶穌說:, “他誰信我也會做,我做的工作; 而比這更大的事,他會做, 因為我到父那裡去” (約翰· 14:12). 這麼, 在說 “對” 上帝在報喜, 瑪麗與他在一個更大的合作, 更貼心的方式比任何人或天使曾經有或曾經將盡.

當她站在十字架的腳下, 耶穌對她說:, “女人, 你看你的兒子!”, 指的是使徒約翰在她身旁. 而約翰, 耶和華說:, “看哪, 你的母親!” (約翰· 19:26-27).

這是非凡的,耶穌先問小麗看約翰後, 因為約翰是一個成年人完全有能力照顧自己的. 這是唯一合理的解釋耶穌’ 話瑪麗和約翰在精神的方式, 看到瑪麗被委託為約翰的精神母親, 誰是 “愛徒” 代表的是基督的追隨者. 巧合的是, 該 啟示錄, 寫了約翰, 肯定瑪麗所有基督徒的母親, 話, “然後龍很生氣的女人, 並去了發動戰爭對她的後代休息, 對那些誰守神的誡命,並見證耶穌” (12:17).

然而, despite all the special privileges God has seen bestowed on Mary, 她只是仍然是他的生物和僕人,因為她自己謙虛地自稱的尊, 讚美她的讚歌全能:

“我的心尊主, 我的靈以神我的救主, 因為他認為他使女的卑微. 看哪, 從今以後,萬代要稱我有福; 因為他誰是強大的為我做偉大的事情, 而他的名為聖。” (盧克 1:46-49)

Praying to Mary

Image of Madonna of Humility by Gentile-da-FabrianorThere is probably no one aspect of the Catholic faith more widely misunderstood than devotion to the Virgin Mary, which can appear to some Christians as a form of idolatry.

To properly understand this devotion, one must distinguish between honor and worship. Simply put, we honor Mary and the Saints, but worship God alone. According to the Bible, the essence of worship is not prayer, furthermore, but the offering of sacrifice (see Exodus 20:24; Malachi 1:11; and Paul’s First Letter to the Corinthians 10:14-21, et al.). Catholics pray to the Saints, but offer sacrifice to God alone, namely the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass!

As we explain elsewhere, praying to the Saints is merely a way to ask those who have gone before us to pray with us and for us–just as we ask fellow believers on earth to do.

Roman Catholic and Orthodox devotion to Mary involves more than prayer, though. What of the high status which Catholics and Orthodox assign to her? Is is right to so exalt a mere human being?

We believe that no one could possibly exalt Mary more than God did when He chose her to be the Mother of His Son. In the Gospel scene of the visitation, Saint Elizabeth says to her, “Blessed are you among women, and blessed is the fruit of your womb! And why is this granted me, that the mother of my Lord should come to me?” (Luke 1:41-43).  In that same passage, Mary exclaims, “For behold, henceforth all generations will call me blessed” (1:48).

Sometimes those who oppose so lofty a view of Mary will cite the episode in the Gospel of Luke in which a woman in the crowd calls out to Jesus, “Blessed is the womb that bore you, and the breasts that you sucked!”; to which He responds, “Blesssed rather are those who hear the word of God and keep it” (11:27-28). We need to be careful not to interpret a particular verse of the Bible out of the context. For, as we have just seen, Mary’s blessedness is affirmed elsewhere in Luke. In fact, in the first chaper of the book, Elizabeth says of Mary, “Blessed is she who believed that there would be a fulfillment of what was spoken to her from the Lord” (1:45). These are essentially the same words Jesus used later to identify true blessedness: “Blessed rather are those who hear the word of God and keep it.” In Luke 11:28, then, the Lord was not denying Mary’s blessed status, but clarifying for us the true reason for it: her perfect faith and obedience to God’s word.

Image of Parting from Saint John by Duccio di BuoninsegnaChrist is our one Mediator with God, and He calls His followers to share with Him in that singular mediation, to, as the Bible says, become “God’s fellow workers” as Saint Paul stated in his First Letter to the Corinthians 3:9.

Jesus said, “He who believes in me will also do the works that I do; and greater works than these will he do, because I go to the Father” (John 14:12). So, in saying “Yes” to God at the Annunciation, Mary cooperated with Him in a far greater, more intimate way than any human being or angel ever has or ever will do.

As she stood at the foot of the Cross, Jesus said to her, “Woman, behold your son!”, referring to the Apostle John beside her. And to John, the Lord said, “Behold, your mother!” (John 19:26-27).

It is extraordinary that Jesus first asked Mary to look after John, given that John was an adult fully capable of caring for himself. It is only reasonable to interpret Jesus’ words to Mary and John in a spiritual way, seeing that Mary was entrusted to be the spiritual Mother of John, who as “the beloved disciple” represented all of Christ’s followers. Coincidentally, the Book of Revelation, written by John, affirms Mary as the Mother of all Christians, saying, “Then the dragon was angry with the woman, and went off to make war on the rest of her offspring, on those who keep the commandments of God and bear testimony to Jesus” (12:17).

Nevertheless, despite all the special privileges God has seen bestowed on Mary, she remains merely His creature and servant as she herself humbly professes in the Magnificat, her hymn of praise to the Almighty:

“My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior, for he has regarded the low estate of his handmaiden. For behold, henceforth all generations will call me blessed; for he who is mighty has done great things for me, and holy is his name.” (Luke 1:46-49)