聖餐

為什麼天主教徒相信聖體聖事是身體和耶穌的血?

Image of The Last Supper by Albrecht Bouts簡短的回答是,天主教徒認為,聖體是身體和耶穌的血,因為它是由耶穌教, 自己, 並記錄在聖經.

在晚上,他被出賣, 他收集的與他的門徒慶祝逾越節, 在儀式膳食中以色列人吃 (在他們的解放,從束縛在埃及前夕).

逾越節晚餐包括獻祭的羔羊的肉 (見出埃及記, 12:8). 最後的晚餐, 其中發生在從罪惡男人的解放前夕, 是逾越節晚餐的履行.

當晚, 現在被稱為聖週四, 耶穌, 上帝的羔羊, 給他的親生骨肉被忠實吃掉–聖事, 在麵包和酒的形式.1

耶和華見證人和其他團體共同反對天主教教學聖體聖事上違反舊約禁止對血液的飲食理由. 在馬可福音 7:18-19, 然而, 耶穌去除馬賽克的飲食限制,包括吃血從他的追隨者的負擔. 在理事會耶路撒冷的使徒們禁止的血液飲食, 雖然只在特定情況下,以避免不必要地得罪猶太人 (見使徒行傳 15:29 和 21:25).

以麵包, 它祝福, 打破它, 和使徒之間分配其, 耶穌說:, “採取, 吃; 這是我的身體“ (馬修 26:26). 接著,他拿起杯, 這他也祝福, 並給了他們, 話, 它的“飲料, 在座的各位; 因為這是我立約的血, 這是為多人流出來,使罪得赦免“ (馬修 26:27-28). 雖然耶穌經常傳道期間比喻說話, 在這關鍵時刻,他清楚地說話. “這是我的身體,“ 他說, 不解釋. “這是我的血。”這是很難想像主怎麼能比這更直接.

Image of Communion of the Apostles by Justus Ghent耶穌聖體聖事在最後的晚餐的機構履行他的生活講道的著名麵包, 它被記錄在約翰福音第六章. 這講道是由麵包和魚的繁殖開頭, 由成千上萬的奇蹟般從食物的微量供給 (看到約翰 6:4 儘管這奇蹟出現在所有四個福音). 此事件是一個暗喻聖體聖事, 存在的,因為它逾越節操作中一樣,並通過相同的公式耶穌將在最後的以後使用已經實現的晚餐-服用麵包, 感恩, 和分發他們 (約翰· 6:11). 當人們回歸於次日從他需要一個標誌, 回顧怎麼他們的祖先曾在曠野被賦予甘露 (在出埃及記 16:14), 耶穌回复, “真正, 真, 我對你說, 這不是摩西誰給你從天上來的麵包; 我的父親給你從天上來的真糧. 因為神的糧就是從天上降下來, 賜生命給世界“ (約翰· 6:32-33).

“主, 在此給我們麵包總是,“他們哭 (約翰· 6:34).

“我是生命的糧,“他回應; “他涉及到誰我不得飢餓, 他誰信我的,永遠不渴“ (6:35). 雖然他的話讓猶太人感到不安, 耶穌勢頭不減, 他的講話穩步增長更多的圖形:

47 “真正, 真, 我對你說, 他誰的人有永生.

48 我是生命的糧.

49 你們的祖宗吃過嗎哪在曠野, 他們死了.

50 這是從天上降下來的糧, 一個人吃了就不死.

51 6:51我是從天上降下來生命的糧; 如果這餅中的任何一個吃, 他將永遠活著; 和 我要為世界的生命給麵包是我的肉“ (6:47-51; 進一步強調).

詩 51 含有爭的證明耶穌沒有講話比喻, 因為他可以鑑定出必須吃,因為這將遭受和死在十字架上一樣肉麵包. 斷言,在提到他的肉體在這個段落中,他象徵性地講是說,遭受痛苦和死在十字架上的肉體僅僅是一個符號, 因為他們是同一個!2

“這個人怎麼能做他的肉,吃?“人們問 (6:52).

儘管他們驚愕的, 耶穌進入更加強調:

“真正, 真, 我對你說, 除非你吃人子的肉,喝他的血, 你有沒有生命在你們; 他誰吃我的肉,喝我血的人有永生, 我要叫他在最後一天. 我的肉真是可吃, 我的血真是可喝. 他誰吃我的肉,喝我的血我遵守, 而我在他身上. 活的父怎樣差我來, 和我住,因為父, 所以他誰吃我的,生活的,因為我的. 這是從天上下來的麵包, 還不如父親吃了死; 他誰吃這個麵包就永遠活著。“ (6:53-58; 進一步強調).

聖體聖事的慶祝活動是在早期基督徒的生活中心, 誰“自己專門使徒的教學和獎學金, 到擘餅和祈禱“ (見使徒行傳 2:42). 需要注意的是“麵包和祈禱斷裂”是指禮儀.

最後使徒的死亡僅僅幾年後,, 安提阿的聖依納爵 (ð. CA. 107) 描述的禮儀相同的方式, 譴責“從聖體聖事和祈禱”為異端棄權 (敬告Smyrnaeans 6:2). 早期教會, 還有, 週日了, 復活的一天, 作為她的安息日在使徒行傳提到 20:7, 它說, “在一周的第一天, ......我們聚會擘餅的......“ (CF. 十二使徒遺訓 14; 賈斯汀烈士, 首先道歉 67).

聖保羅標識都認為噴湧使水為以色列人為聖體聖事的隱喻甘露和岩石. “都吃了一樣的靈食和所有喝同樣的超自然飲料,“ 他寫. “因為他們從超自然的岩石跟隨他們喝, 和磐石就是基督“ (見他的第一封信給Corinthians10:3-4 以及對我國的啟示書 2:17). 他接著告誡哥林多他們缺乏敬畏在接受聖餐, 寫作:

11:23 因為我從主領受什麼,我還向你, 主耶穌在晚上,當他被出賣了麵包

24 當他給了感謝, 他打破了它, 並表示, 這是我的身體,是你. 在我的記憶做到這一點.

25 在還以同樣的方式杯, 晚飯後, 話, 這杯是用我的血所立的新約. 做到這一點, 往往你喝, 在我的記憶.

26 對於經常你吃這餅,喝這杯, 是表明主的死,直到他來.

27 誰, 因此, 在吃不按理麵包,喝主的杯,就是褻瀆主的身體和血.

28 讓男人自己檢查, 所以吃麵包,喝這杯的.

29 對於誰吃喝,不妨礙自己挑剔的身體吃喝判斷任何一個.

30 這就是為什麼很多的你是軟弱和虐待, 有的已經死亡 (看到馬修 5:23-24, 太).

支付 27, 到混跡收到聖體是得罪主的身體和血液. 這麼, 值得一問: 怎麼可能普通的麵包和酒量不配接待反對耶穌的身體和血液罪? 保羅說,即使是在聖體聖事不恭接受的原因是“為什麼你們許多人是軟弱和生病, 有的已經死亡“ (v. 30).

只有恰當的最有名的教父早 (教父) 在真實的存在說明來自安提阿的聖依納爵, 誰學會了坐在信仰的傳播者約翰的腳. 在對今年A.D. 107, 利用教會的聖體聖事的教學,以抵禦Docetists的化身, 誰否認耶穌真正成肉身, 伊格內修斯寫道::

就拿那些誰在耶穌基督的恩典,它已經到了我們持有異端觀點的音符, 看他們的意見如何違背對神的心意. ......他們從聖餐和祈禱棄權, 因為他們不承認聖體聖事是我們的救主耶穌基督的肉, 這遭受的罪,因為父肉, 在他的善良, 復活了 (敬告Smyrnaeans 6:2; 7:1).

遭受並且死在十字架上為我們的罪,並從死者返回同一個身體, 作為伊格解釋, 是存在於我們在聖體聖事 (看到約翰 6:51).

聖賈斯汀烈士, 圍繞寫作 150, 說聖餐麵包和酒都獲得了“不常見的麵包,也沒有共同的飲料,“因為他們是”即體現了耶穌的血肉“ (首先道歉 66).

在約 185, 里昂的聖愛任紐, 其老師士麥那的聖波利卡普 (ð. CA. 156) 也知道約翰, 聖體聖事的防禦諾斯底主義的身體復活發言. “如果身體不保存,“認為聖, “然後, 事實上, 也沒有上帝救贖我們用自己的血; 既不是聖餐杯他的血的單打獨鬥,也不是我們打破他的身體單打獨鬥的麵包 (1 肺心病. 10:16)” (對異端邪說 5:2:2).

奧利說聖餐圍繞第三世紀中葉, “以前, 在一個不起眼的方式, 有甘露為食; 現在, 然而, 在眾目睽睽之下, 還有就是真正的食品, 神的話語的肉, 正如他自己說: “我的肉真是可吃, 我的血是真實的飲料“ (約翰· 6:56)” (在數字頌歌 7:2).

同樣, 迦太基的聖塞浦路斯 (ð. 258) 寫:

我們要求這個麵包每天給我們 (CF. 馬特. 6:11), 所以,我們是誰在基督和每天收到聖體聖事的救恩的食物, 不得, 掉進一些更嚴重的罪,然後從通信棄權, 從天上麵包扣, 並從基督的身體分離. ......他自己警告我們, 話, “除非你吃人子的肉,喝他的血, 你無權在你的生活“ (約翰· 6:54) (主禱文 18).

  1. 逾越節的羔羊的血並沒有消耗. 事實上, 它被禁止以色列消耗任何動物的血, 作為血液代表的動物的壽命力, 它獨屬於神 (看到創世紀, 9:4, 和利, 7:26). 反過來, 在聖體聖事, 上帝希望分享他的血, 他的生命, 與我們滋養我們聖事. 在這種不可言說的禮品我們成為一個有血有肉, 一個精神, 與上帝同在 (看到約翰福音 6:56-57 與啟示的書, 3:20).
  2. 耶穌的確在其他地方使用的參考符號語言,以自己約翰 福音, 稱自己“門”和“藤,“ 例如 (10:7 和 15:5, 分別). 在這些其他實例, 然而, 他不幾乎同樣重視適用於他的話是他做的 約翰· 6, 其中,他一遍又一遍地重複自己越來越清楚. 這些說法也沒有產生爭議的聽眾的途中他的話 約翰· 6 做. 還有, 福音約翰實際上告訴我們,耶穌被形象地說 約翰· 10:6, 這是他不會在第六章做.

Eucharist

Why Do Catholics believe the Eucharist is the Body and Blood of Jesus?

Image of The Last Supper by Albrecht BoutsThe short answer is that Catholics believe the Eucharist is the Body and Blood of Jesus because it was taught by Jesus, Himself, and recorded in the Bible.

On the night He was betrayed, He gathered with His Apostles to celebrate Passover, the ritualistic meal eaten by the Israelites (on the eve of their liberation from bondage in Egypt).

The Passover meal included the flesh of the sacrificial lamb (see Exodus, 12:8). The Last Supper, which took place on the eve of man’s liberation from sin, is the fulfillment of the Passover meal.

On that night, now known as Holy Thursday, Jesus, the Lamb of God, gave His own Flesh and Blood to be eaten by the faithful–sacramentally, in the form of Bread and Wine.1

Jehovah’s Witnesses and other groups commonly object to Catholic teaching on the Eucharist on the grounds it violates the Old Testament prohibition against the eating of blood. In Mark’s Gospel 7:18-19, however, Jesus removed the burden of the Mosaic dietary restrictions—including the eating of blood—from His followers. At the Council of Jerusalem the Apostles did forbid the eating of blood, though only in particular situations to avoid unnecessarily offending the Jews (see the Acts of the Apostles 15:29 and 21:25).

Taking bread, blessing it, breaking it, and distributing it among the Apostles, jesus said, “Take, eat; this is my body” (Matthew 26:26). Then He took a cup, which He also blessed, and gave to them, saying, “Drink of it, all of you; for this is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins” (Matthew 26:27-28). Although Jesus often spoke metaphorically during His ministry, at this crucial moment He spoke plainly. “This is my body,” He said, without explanation. “This is my blood.” It is hard to imagine how the Lord could have been more direct.

Image of Communion of the Apostles by Justus GhentJesus’ institution of the Eucharist at the Last Supper fulfills His famous Bread of Life sermon, which is recorded in the sixth chapter of the Gospel of John. This sermon is prefaced by the multiplication of loaves and fish, by which thousands are miraculously fed from a tiny amount of food (see John 6:4 although that miracle appears in all four Gospels). This event is a Eucharistic metaphor, occurring as it does during Passover and having been effected by the same formula Jesus would later use at the Last Supper—taking the loaves, giving thanks, and distributing them (John 6:11). When the people return on the following day to demand a sign from Him, recalling how their ancestors had been given manna in the wilderness (as in Exodus 16:14), Jesus replies, “Truly, truly, I say to you, it was not Moses who gave you the bread from heaven; my Father gives you the true bread from heaven. For the bread of God is that which comes down from heaven, and gives life to the world” (John 6:32-33).

“Lord, give us this bread always,” they cry (John 6:34).

“I am the bread of life,” He responds; “he who comes to me shall not hunger, and he who believes in me shall never thirst” (6:35). Though His words make the Jews uneasy, Jesus continues unabated, His speech growing steadily more graphic:

47 “Truly, truly, I say to you, he who believes has eternal life.

48 I am the bread of life.

49 Your fathers ate the manna in the wilderness, and they died.

50 This is the bread which comes down from heaven, that a man may eat of it and not die.

51 I am the living bread which came down from heaven; if any one eats of this bread, he will live for ever; and the bread which I shall give for the life of the world is my flesh” (6:47-51; emphasis added).

Verse 51 contains indisputable proof that Jesus is not speaking figuratively, for He identifies the Bread which must be eaten as the same Flesh that would suffer and die on the Cross. To assert that in referring to His Flesh in this passage He is speaking symbolically is to say the Flesh that suffered and died on the Cross was merely a symbol, for they are one and the same!2

“How can this man give us his flesh to eat?” the people ask (6:52).

In spite of their consternation, Jesus proceeds all the more emphatically:

“Truly, truly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of man and drink his blood, you have no life in you; he who eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day. For my flesh is food indeed, and my blood is drink indeed. He who eats my flesh and drinks my blood abides in me, and I in him. As the living Father sent me, and I live because of the Father, so he who eats me will live because of me. This is the bread which came down from heaven, not such as the fathers ate and died; he who eats this bread will live for ever” (6:53-58; emphasis added).

The celebration of the Eucharist was central in the lives of the early Christians, who “devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching and fellowship, to the breaking of bread and the prayers” (See the Acts of the Apostles 2:42). Note that “The breaking of bread and the prayers” refers to the Liturgy.

Only a few years after the death of the last Apostle, Saint Ignatius of Antioch (d. ca. 107) described the Liturgy the same way, denouncing heretics for abstaining “from the Eucharist and from prayer” (Letter to the Smyrnaeans 6:2). That the early Church, furthermore, took Sunday, the day of the Resurrection, as her Sabbath is mentioned in the Acts of the Apostles 20:7, which says, “On the first day of the week, … we were gathered together to break bread …” (cf. Didache 14; Justin the Martyr, First Apology 67).

Saint Paul identifies both the manna and the rock that spew forth water for the Israelites as Eucharistic metaphors. “All ate the same supernatural food and all drank the same supernatural drink,” he writes. “For they drank from the supernatural Rock which followed them, and the Rock was Christ” (See his First Letter to the Corinthians10:3-4 as well as the Book of Revelations 2:17). He goes on to admonish the Corinthians for their lack of reverence in receiving the Eucharist, writing:

11:23 For I received from the Lord what I also delivered to you, that the Lord Jesus on the night when he was betrayed took bread

24 and when he had given thanks, he broke it, and said, This is my body which is for you. Do this in remembrance of me.

25 In the same way also the cup, after supper, saying, This cup is the new covenant in my blood. Do this, as often as you drink it, in remembrance of me.

26 For as often as you eat this bread and drink the cup, you proclaim the Lord’s death until he comes.

27 Whoever, therefore, eats the bread or drinks the cup of the Lord in an unworthy manner will be guilty of profaning the body and blood of the Lord.

28 Let a man examine himself, and so eat of the bread and drink of the cup.

29 For any one who eats and drinks without discerning the body eats and drinks judgment upon himself.

30 That is why many of you are weak and ill, and some have died (see Matthew 5:23-24, too).

Per verse 27, to receive the Eucharist unworthily is to sin against the Body and Blood of the Lord. So, it is worth asking: how could the unworthy reception of ordinary bread and wine amount to a sin against the Body and Blood of Jesus? Paul says even that the impious reception of the Eucharist is the reason “why many of you are weak and ill, and some have died” (v. 30).

It is only fitting that the most famous early Patristic (Church Father) statements on the Real Presence come from Saint Ignatius of Antioch, who learned the Faith seated at the feet of the Evangelist John. In about the year A.D. 107, using the Church’s Eucharistic teaching to defend the Incarnation against the Docetists, who denied Jesus had truly come in the flesh, Ignatius wrote:

Take note of those who hold heterodox opinions on the grace of Jesus Christ which has come to us, and see how contrary their opinions are to the mind of God. … They abstain from the Eucharist and from prayer, because they do not confess that the Eucharist is the Flesh of our Savior Jesus Christ, Flesh which suffered for our sins and which the Father, in His goodness, raised up again (Letter to the Smyrnaeans 6:2; 7:1).

The same Body that suffered and died on the Cross for our sins and returned from the dead, as Ignatius explained, is present to us in the Holy Eucharist (see John 6:51).

Saint Justin the Martyr, writing around 150, said the Eucharistic Bread and Wine are received “not as common bread nor common drink,” for They are “the flesh and blood of that incarnated Jesus” (First Apology 66).

In about 185, Saint Irenaeus of Lyons, whose teacher Saint Polycarp of Smyrna (d. ca. 156) also knew John, spoke of the Eucharist in defending the bodily resurrection against gnosticism. “If the body be not saved,” argued the Saint, “then, in fact, neither did the Lord redeem us with His Blood; and neither is the cup of the Eucharist the partaking of His Blood nor is the Bread which we break the partaking of His Body (1 Cor. 10:16)” (Against Heresies 5:2:2).

Origen remarked of the Eucharist around the middle of the third century, “Formerly, in an obscure way, there was manna for food; now, however, in full view, there is the True Food, the Flesh of the Word of God, as he himself says: ‘My Flesh is true food, and my Blood is true drink’ (John 6:56)” (Homilies on Numbers 7:2).

Similarly, Saint Cyprian of Carthage (d. 258) wrote:

We ask that this bread be given us daily (cf. Matt. 6:11), so that we who are in Christ and daily receive the Eucharist as the food of salvation, may not, by falling into some more grievous sin and then abstaining from communicating, be withheld from the heavenly Bread, and be separated from Christ’s Body. … He Himself warns us, saying, “Unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink His blood, you shall not have life in you” (John 6:54) (The Lord’s Prayer 18).

  1. The blood of the Passover lamb was not consumed. In fact, it was forbidden for Israel to consume the blood of any animal, as blood represented the life force of the animal, which belonged to God alone (see Genesis, 9:4, and Leviticus, 7:26). Conversely, in the Eucharist, God wishes to share His Blood, His very Life, with us to nourish us sacramentally. In this ineffable Gift we become one flesh and blood, one spirit, with God (see the Gospel of John 6:56-57 and the Book of Revelations, 3:20).
  2. Jesus does use symbolic language in reference to Himself elsewhere in John’s Gospel, calling Himself “the door” and “the vine,” for example (10:7 and 15:5, respectively). In these other instances, however, He does not apply nearly the same emphasis to His words that He does in John 6, in which He repeats Himself again and again with increasing clarity. Nor do these other sayings engender controversy among the listeners the way His words in John 6 do. Moreover, the Evangelist John actually informs us Jesus is speaking figuratively in John 10:6, something he does not do in the sixth chapter.