瑪麗的永久童貞

為什麼天主教徒認為瑪麗仍然是一個處女, 聖經說,當耶穌有兄弟姐妹?

和, 為什麼瑪麗的童貞天主教徒如此重要?

Image of the Coronation of the Virgin by Fra Angelico答案很簡單:: 天主教徒認為瑪麗留在她的一生處女,​​因為它是真實的. 它是由基督的教會莊嚴宣布教學, “支柱和真理的基礎” (看到保羅的 首字母給提摩太 3:15); 通過聖傳透露; 並與聖經agreeance (看到保羅的 第二封信帖撒羅尼迦 2:15).

這麼, 天主教徒認為, “兄弟主的姐妹” 在聖經中提到耶穌被近乎關係, 但不是同級 (我們將在下面詳細解釋).

最後, 最顯著, 瑪麗的永久的童貞是必不可少的基督教,因為它肯定耶穌. 最終,, 這種信念指向基督的聖潔和向道成肉身的獨特性: 神成為人的行為.

先知以西結宣告王子 “應走出去, 和他出去後,門必須關閉” (見 以西結書 46:12), 和教會明白這是基督的誕生和瑪麗的童貞終身參考 (看到聖安布羅斯, 處女奉獻 8:52). 這麼, 有人裝修瑪麗會耶穌誕生後保留她的貞操,因為誰的,他是: 神人形!

根據聖經, 人們可能會反思摩西的故事和燃燒的荊棘. 摩西走近叢林, 耶和華說:, “不要靠近; 從你的腳上穿脫鞋, 在其上你所站之地是聖地” (出埃及記 3:5).

這個故事有助於我們理解瑪麗的永久的童貞兩種方式.

Image of Moses and the Burning Bush by Dirk Bouts首先, 我們看到,地面被神聖化,因為主的存在已經有下降. 我們不應該忘記,這神一樣, 誰似乎摩西在燃燒的荊棘, 在瑪麗的子宮被設想.

這麼, 它只會擬合說她, 像神聖的地面 出埃及記, 需要成聖, 特意準備, 亦即, 接受萬王之王和萬主之主.

秒, 教父看到燃燒的荊棘本身的形象–灌木輝耀, 尚未消耗–瑪麗的分娩不會因此失去她的童貞的隱喻. 譬如, 在第四世紀, 格雷戈里的nyssa寫道:, “什麼在叢林中的火焰當時是預示了公開表現在處女之謎. … 由於山上的灌木叢燒毀,但沒有被消耗掉, 所以處女生下了光,並沒有損壞” (在基督誕生).

Image of The Burning Bush by Nicholas Froment實質上, 瑪麗的永久的童貞宣布向世界表明,因為基督是如此神聖–神自己–這本來是不恰當的已經在一個普通女人的子宮裡已經形成他; 和, 同樣, 為罪人已經後,他來自同一個子宮–子宮特意準備承擔彌賽亞. 再次, 考慮結, “[王子] 應走出去, 和他出去後,門必須關上了。”

瑪麗的童貞,在主的誕生的時間由先知以賽亞指示, 誰規定, “看哪, 必有童女懷孕生子, 並給他起名叫以馬內利” (7:14; 見 馬修 1:23 和 盧克 1:27). 以賽亞書, 畢竟, 肯定她的童貞受孕 在軸承. 還有. 瑪麗的回應, 到天使的宣布她將懷孕生子–“這怎麼可能,因為我不知道男人?” (盧克 1:34)–清楚地表明,她是處女. 她的反應幾乎是有道理的,否則.

她永遠的處女狀態在暗示 雅歌, 它說, “鎖定一個花園是我的妹妹, 我的新娘, 密封的噴泉” (4:12).

我們如何理解這個給定的事實,她和約瑟夫訂婚了,隨後結婚? 有一個古老的傳統,認為瑪麗是獻給耶和華為從嬰兒一奉獻的處女; 而當她來到年齡委託給約瑟夫, 一個鰥夫比她老得多 (CF. 詹姆斯Protoevangelium).

貞潔的婚姻中在一定條件下的概念, 的確, 聖經概念. 譬如, 在國王的第一本書 1:4, 大衛王需要一個少女, 亞比煞, 他的妻子在他的晚年照顧他, 但與她的關係棄權.

還有, 在他的第一個字母科林蒂安, 保羅建議奉獻獨身或永久訂婚的狀態,那些誰可以接受 (見 7:37-38).

Image of The Annunciation by The Master of Panzano很明顯, 在她的光打電話承受神的兒子, 瑪麗的婚姻約瑟夫是遠非一般. 它是由神維爾京和她的兒子的照顧和保護受戒–讓來自世界隱藏了一段時間的化身. “瑪麗的童貞, 她生完孩子, 主,也是死亡, 被隱藏的這個世界的王,” 寫安提阿的伊格內修斯, 使徒約翰的門徒, 在大約一年 107: “–3奧秘大肆渲染, 但在上帝的沉默造成” (信哉 19:1).

馬修 1:19, 聖經告訴我們Jospeh是 “一個正直的人。” 因此,, 在聽取瑪麗另一個設想一個孩子, 他決定把她悄悄離去救她從可能的執行摩西律法之下 (按照 申命記 22:23-24).

主干預, 雖然, 告訴他通過天使在夢中, “不要害怕採取瑪麗你的妻子, 因他所懷的孕,是聖靈; 她會生一個兒子, 你要給他起名叫耶穌, 因他要將自己的百姓從罪惡” (馬修 1:20).

約瑟夫不會採取這些話的意思, 雖然, 瑪麗是他的妻子在這個詞的通常意義. 作為米蘭的聖安布羅斯寫道:,

“它也不使該聖經說有什麼區別: “約瑟帶著妻子走進埃及’ (馬特. 1:24; 2:14); 對於信奉一個男人哪個女人被賦予妻子的名字. 它是從婚姻開始的婚姻術語使用的時間. 這是不是處女的deflowering,使婚姻, 但婚姻合同. 這是當女孩接受婚姻開始的枷鎖, 不是當她開始認識到她的丈夫身體” (處女的奉獻和瑪麗的永久的童貞 6:41).

她承擔了神的兒子讓她第一次聖靈的配偶 (每 盧克 1:35); 約瑟夫是法律禁止下能與另一個人的配偶婚姻關係.

關於 “兄弟主的姐妹?”

首先, 應當指出,在引用從經文出了整個聖經的上下文中的危險. 耶穌委託瑪麗使徒約翰的事實, 例如, 是一個強烈的信號,他沒有兄弟姐妹的實際 (見 約翰· 19:27). 因為如果瑪麗有其他的孩子, 耶穌不會有問別人家庭以外的照顧她. (針對此獲得在基督教界一些牽引的說法是,耶穌委託瑪麗約翰的概念,因為詹姆斯和主的其他 “弟兄” 尚未基督徒. 但這種說法是脆弱的. 如果是這樣的情況下,, 人們期望福音給予一定的解釋,這種效果. 耶穌給瑪麗約翰沒有任何解釋的事實表明瑪麗有沒有其他子女。)

Image of Presentation at the Temple by Stefan Lochner怎麼樣, 然後, 是我們解釋經文如 馬修 13:55, 其中人在人群中句話, “這不是木匠的兒子? 瑪麗不是也知道是他的母親和詹姆斯, 約瑟夫, 西蒙和猶大他的兄弟們? 他妹妹們不我們的鄰居?”

天主教會的立場,這些 “兄弟” 和 “姐妹” 是近親, 如表兄妹, 但不是同級, 與呼喚一個人的親屬古代猶太習俗同意 “哥哥” (每 創世紀 13:8; 14:14; 29:15, 等。). 正如教宗若望保祿大寫到, “應當指出,沒有特定術語,希伯來語,亞拉姆語的存在是為了表達這個詞'表哥', 並且,術語“哥哥’ 和“妹妹’ 因此,包括幾度關係。”1

還有, 它是在別處揭示 馬修 那 “詹姆斯和約瑟夫·” 實際上不同的瑪麗的兒子, 誰與婦女其餘站在十字架的腳下,伴隨著瑪利亞在復活節早上墓 (27:55-56; 28:1).

這馬利亞普遍認為是革羅罷的妻子, 誰可能是耶穌的叔叔 (見 約翰· 19:25; 見尤西比烏斯, 教會史 3:11).2 它告訴, 還有, 該主 “弟兄” 無處聖經被稱為瑪麗的兒子, 耶穌常常被稱為 (見 馬修 13:55; 馬克 6:3, 等。).

有兩個其他的福音經文瑪麗的永久的童貞的反對者經常引用: 馬修 1:25 和 盧克 2:7.

馬修 1:25 約瑟夫說: “曾與她沒有關係,在任何時候,她生了一個兒子了。” 正如路德維希·奧特在解釋 天主教教義的基礎, 雖然, 這節經文 “斷言(小號) 即最多的時間點確定婚姻不圓滿, 但不是由它被在此之後完善任何裝置” (譚書, 1960, p. 207). 的目標 馬修 1:25 是肯定耶穌沒有在地上的父親, 並且是真正的上帝的兒子. 這並不意味著暗示耶穌之後,約瑟和瑪麗的關係什麼’ 分娩. 考慮 撒母耳記 6:23, 它說,瑪麗 “沒有孩子她死的日子。” 明顯, 這並不意味著她有一個孩子 她的死亡. 於 馬修 28:20, 耶穌應許與他的追隨者 “到時代的結束。” 再次, 這並不意味著他將不再與他們同在該點之後.

盧克 2:7, 耶穌被稱為瑪麗的 “第一個出生的。” 然而, 作為教皇約翰·保羅解釋:

“這個詞'長子,’ 字面意思是“不是前面還有一個孩子’ 和, 在自身, 沒有提及其他孩子的存在. 還有, 福音強調兒童的這種特性, 因為正確的猶太法律的某些義務有聯繫的長子誕生, 獨立的母親是否有可能生下其他孩子. 因此,每一個唯一的兒子受到這些藥方,因為他是“獨生第一’ (CF. 盧克 2:23)” (“教會介紹瑪麗為“永恆之處女””)

Jesus, Mary and Joseph and angels邁克爾O'Carroll, 還有, 報導, “在埃及的猶太墓地碑文, 從第一個世紀以來, … 有助於回答基於ST針對瑪麗的永久的童貞異議. 盧克的使用這個詞的“第一個出生’ (prototokos) (2:7). 這並不意味著其他孩子這個詞是由它在這種情況下,使用證明形容女人誰是她的第一個孩子出生後死亡, 誰也不能明顯有其他人” (東正: 聖母瑪利亞的神學大全, 邁克爾玻璃工, 1982, p. 49).

什麼教父說?

由於在爭議瑪麗的永久的童貞雙方, 親和, 使聖經的論據來支持他們的立場, 我們如何確定誰是正確的? 誰是正確解釋聖經, 對於真正的使徒方式?

提供支持的一種方式是協商基督教古代歷史著作, 俗稱早期教父的著作.

亞歷山大的克萊門特, 例如, 在第三世紀初寫, “這位母親獨顯不加牛奶, 因為她本身並不成為一個老婆. 她是在一次既聖母和母親” (孩子們的輔導員 1:6:42:1).

克萊門特的瞳孔, 源, 在第一個十年的世紀, 證實,瑪麗 “沒有其他的兒子,但耶穌” (約翰評 1:6). 別處, 他寫了, “我認為這與和諧的原因是耶穌其中包括在貞操純潔的男性中第一水果, 和瑪麗是婦女; 它不是虔誠歸咎於任何其他比她貞操的第一果” (馬修評 2:17).

隨著他對過分的表揚她, 那修 (ð. 373) 描述瑪麗 “不斷處女” (話語反對阿里安斯 2:70).

在約 375, 埃皮法尼烏斯主張, “當時有過任何養殖人誰也不敢對聖母瑪利亞的名說話, 而被質疑, 並沒有立即加, “處女?“” (Panarion 78:6).

“一定,” 教皇寫在西里修 392, “我們不能否認,你的敬畏是天經地義的斥責他對瑪麗的孩子的分數, 而且你有足夠的理由這樣的想法嚇壞了另一個出生可能從哪個基督按肉體出生的同處女子宮發行” (信Anysius, 帖撒羅尼迦的主教).

安布羅斯在評論 396, “模仿她, 聖潔的母親, 誰在她唯一的親愛的兒子提出材料憑藉著如此之大的例子; 因為無論你有孩子更甜, 也沒有處女尋求能夠承受另一個兒子安慰” (快報 63:111).

奧古斯丁 (ð. 430) 說, “處女構思, 處女軸承, 處女懷孕, 處女帶來第四, 處女永久. 你為什麼想知道在這, 哦人類? 它是裝修為上帝,因而被誕生, 當他屈尊成為一個男人” (布道 186:1).

教皇利奧大中聲明 449, “他是他的處女母親的子宮內孕育聖靈. 她領他沒有童貞的喪失, 甚至為她設想他沒有它的損失” (對我來說 28). 在其他地方,教宗寫道:, “對於處女構思, 處女孔, 和處女,她依然” (在布道聖誕盛宴 22:2).

因此,, 我們發現這種教學的歷史連續性,從早年的信念下降到今天.


  1. 見 “教會介紹瑪麗為“永恆之處女;“” 羅馬觀察報, 在英語週報版, 九月 4, 1996.
  2. “針對此的爭論, 雖然,” 觀察到的卡爾基廷, “是詹姆斯在別處 (公噸 10:3) 描述為阿爾菲厄斯的兒子, 這將意味著瑪麗, 誰她, 既和革羅吧亞勒腓的妻子. 一個解決方案是,她曾經喪偶, 然後再婚. 更可能的是和阿爾菲厄斯革羅吧 (希臘Clopas) 是同一個人, 因為對於阿爾菲厄斯阿拉姆名稱可能在希臘以不同的方式呈現, 無論是作為阿爾菲厄斯或Clopas. 另一種可能性是阿爾菲厄斯了類似於他的猶太名字希臘名字, 掃羅取名保羅的方式” (天主教和原教旨主義, 伊格內修斯新聞, 1988, p. 288).

Perpetual Virginity of Mary

Why do Catholics believe Mary remained a virgin, when the Bible says Jesus had brothers and sisters?

And, why is Mary’s virginity so important to Catholics?

Image of the Coronation of the Virgin by Fra AngelicoThe simple answer is: Catholics believe Mary remained a virgin throughout her lifetime because it is true. It is a teaching solemnly proclaimed by Christ’s Church, “the pillar and foundation of truth” (see Paul’s First Letter to Timothy 3:15); revealed through Sacred Tradition; and in agreeance with Sacred Scripture (see Paul’s Second Letter to the Thessalonians 2:15).

So, Catholics believe that the “brothers and sisters of the Lord” mentioned in the Bible were near-relations of Jesus, but not siblings (as we’ll explain in detail below).

Lastly, and most significantly, Mary’s Perpetual Virginity is essential to Christianity because of what it affirms about Jesus. Ultimately, this belief points to the holiness of Christ and to the uniqueness of the Incarnation: the act of God becoming man.

The prophet Ezekiel declared the prince “shall go out, and after he has gone out the gate shall be shut” (see Ezekiel 46:12), and the Church understands this to be a reference to Christ’s birth and Mary’s lifelong virginity (see Saint Ambrose, Consecration of a Virgin 8:52). So, it was fitting that Mary would retain her virginity after the birth of Jesus because of who He is: God in human form!

Scripturally, one might reflect upon the story of Moses and the burning bush. As Moses approached the bush, the Lord said, “Do not come near; put off your shoes from your feet, for the place on which you are standing is holy ground” (Exodus 3:5).

This story helps us to understand Mary’s Perpetual Virginity in two ways.

Image of Moses and the Burning Bush by Dirk BoutsFirst, we see that the ground was sanctified because the presence of the Lord had descended there. We should not forget that this same God, who appeared to Moses in the burning bush, was conceived in the womb of Mary.

So, it would only be fitting to say that she, like that holy ground in Exodus, needed to be sanctified, specially prepared, that is, to receive the King of kings and Lord of lords.

Second, the Church Fathers saw the image of the burning bush itself–a bush aflame, yet not consumed–as a metaphor of Mary’s giving birth without forfeiting her virginity. For example, in the fourth century, Gregory of Nyssa wrote, “What was prefigured at that time in the flame of the bush was openly manifested in the mystery of the Virgin. … As on the mountain the bush burned but was not consumed, so the Virgin gave birth to the light and was not corrupted” (On the Birth of Christ).

Image of The Burning Bush by Nicholas FromentEssentially, Mary’s Perpetual Virginity proclaims to the world that because Christ was so holy–God Himself–it would have been inappropriate for Him to have been formed in the womb of an ordinary woman; and, likewise, for sinners to have come from that same womb after Him–the womb specially prepared to bear the Messiah. Again, consider Ezekiel, “[The prince] shall go out, and after he has gone out the gate shall be shut.”

Mary’s virginity at the time of the Lord’s birth is indicated by the prophet Isaiah, who states, “Behold, a virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and shall call his name Immanuel” (7:14; see Matthew 1:23 and Luke 1:27). Isaiah, after all, affirms her virginity in conceiving and in bearing. Moreover. Mary’s response, to the Archangel’s announcement she would conceive and bear a Son–“How can this be since I do not know man?” (Luke 1:34)–clearly suggests that she was a virgin. Her reaction hardly makes sense otherwise.

Her perpetually virginal state is implied in the Song of Solomon, which says, “A garden locked is my sister, my bride, a fountain sealed” (4:12).

How are we to understand this given the fact that she and Joseph were betrothed and subsequently married? There is an ancient tradition which holds that Mary was dedicated to the Lord as a consecrated virgin from infancy; and that when she came of age was entrusted to Joseph, a widower much older than she (cf. Protoevangelium of James).

The concept of chastity within marriage under certain conditions is, indeed, a biblical concept. For example, in the First Book of Kings 1:4, King David takes a maiden, Abishag, to be his wife to care for him in his old age, but abstains from relations with her.

Moreover, in his First Letter to the Corinthians, Paul recommended a state of consecrated celibacy or perpetual betrothal to those who can accept it (see 7:37-38).

Image of The Annunciation by The Master of PanzanoClearly, in light of her call to bear the Son of God, Mary’s marriage to Joseph was far from ordinary. It was ordained by God for the care and protection of the Virgin and Her Son–to keep the Incarnation hidden from the world for a time. “The virginity of Mary, her giving birth, and also the death of the Lord, were hidden from the prince of this world,” wrote Ignatius of Antioch, a disciple of the Apostle John, in about the year 107: “–three mysteries loudly proclaimed, but wrought in the silence of God” (Letter to the Ephesians 19:1).

In Matthew 1:19, Sacred Scripture tells us Jospeh was “a just man.” Thus, having heard Mary had conceived a child by another, he resolved to put her away quietly to save her from probable execution under the Mosaic Law (as per Deuteronomy 22:23-24).

The Lord intervened, though, telling him through an angel in a dream, “Do not fear to take Mary your wife, for that which is conceived in her is of the Holy Spirit; she will bear a son, and you shall call his name Jesus, for he will save his people from their sins” (Matthew 1:20).

Joseph would not have taken these words to mean, though, that Mary was to be his wife in the ordinary sense of the word. As Saint Ambrose of Milan wrote,

“Neither does it make any difference that the Scripture says: ‘Joseph took  his wife and went into Egypt’ (Matt. 1:24; 2:14); for any woman espoused to a man is given the name of wife. It is from the time that a marriage begins that the marital terminology is employed. It is not the deflowering of virginity that makes a marriage, but the marital contract. It is when the girl accepts the yoke that the marriage begins, not when she comes to know her husband physically” (The Consecration of a Virgin and the Perpetual Virginity of Mary 6:41).

That she bore the Son of God made her first the spouse of the Holy Spirit (per Luke 1:35); and Joseph was forbidden under the Law to have marital relations with the spouse of another.

What about the “brothers and sisters of the Lord?”

First, it should be pointed out that there is a danger in quoting verses from Scripture out of the context of the whole of Scripture. The fact that Jesus entrusts Mary to the Apostle John, for example, is a strong indication He did not have actual siblings (see John 19:27). For if Mary had other children, Jesus would not have had to ask someone outside of the family to care for her. (An argument against this gaining some traction in Evangelical circles is the notion that Jesus entrusted Mary to John because James and the Lord’s other “brethren” were not yet Christians. But this argument is tenuous. If this were the case, one would expect the Gospels to give some explanation to this effect. The fact that Jesus gives Mary to John without explanation indicates Mary had no other children.)

Image of Presentation at the Temple by Stefan LochnerHow, then, are we to interpret verses such as Matthew 13:55, in which people in the crowd remark, “Isn’t this the carpenter’s son? Isn’t Mary known to be his mother and James, Joseph, Simon and Judas his brothers? Aren’t his sisters our neighbors?”

The Catholic position that these “brothers” and “sisters” were close relatives, such as cousins, but not siblings, agrees with the ancient Jewish custom of calling one’s kinsman “brother” (per Genesis 13:8; 14:14; 29:15, et al.). As Pope John Paul the Great wrote, “It should be recalled that no specific term exists in Hebrew and Aramaic to express the word ‘cousin’, and that the term ‘brother’ and ‘sister’ therefore included several degrees of relationship.”1

Moreover, it is elsewhere revealed in Matthew that “James and Joseph” were actually sons of a different Mary, who stood with the rest of the women at the foot of the Cross and accompanied Mary Magdalene to the tomb on Easter morning (27:55-56; 28:1).

This other Mary is commonly believed to be the wife of Clopas, who may have been an uncle of Jesus (see John 19:25; see also Eusebius, History of the Church 3:11).2 It is telling, furthermore, that the Lord’s “brethren” are nowhere in Scripture referred to as sons of Mary, as Jesus often is called (see Matthew 13:55; Mark 6:3, et al.).

There are two other Gospel verses that opponents of Mary’s Perpetual Virginity often cite: Matthew 1:25 and Luke 2:7.

Matthew 1:25 says that Joseph “had no relations with her at any time before she bore a son.” As Ludwig Ott explained in Fundamentals of Catholic Dogma, though, this verse “assert(s) that up to a definite point in time the marriage was not consummated, but not by any means that it was consummated after this” (Tan Books, 1960, p. 207). The goal of Matthew 1:25 was to affirm that Jesus had no earthly father, and was truly the Son of God. It was not meant to suggest anything about Joseph and Mary’s relationship after Jesus’ birth. Consider the Second Book of Samuel 6:23, which says that Mary “had no child to the day of her death.” Obviously, this does not mean she had a child after her death. In Matthew 28:20, Jesus promises to be with His followers “to the close of the age.” Again, this does not mean He will cease to be with them beyond that point.

In Luke 2:7, Jesus is called Mary’s “first-born.” However, as Pope John Paul explained:

“The word ‘firstborn,’ literally means ‘a child not preceded by another’ and, in itself, makes no reference to the existence of other children. Moreover, the Evangelist stresses this characteristic of the Child, since certain obligations proper to Jewish law were linked to the birth of the firstborn son, independently of whether the mother might have given birth to other children. Thus every only son was subject to these prescriptions because he was ‘begotten first’ (cf. Luke 2:23)” (“The Church Presents Mary as ‘Ever Virgin'”)

Jesus, Mary and Joseph and angelsMichael O’Carroll, furthermore, reported, “The Jewish burial inscription in Egypt, dating from the first century, … helps answer the objection against Mary’s perpetual virginity based on St. Luke’s use of the word ‘first-born’ (prototokos) (2:7). That the word did not imply other children is shown by its use in this case to describe a woman who died after the birth of her first child, who could not obviously have had others” (Theotokos: A Theological Encyclopedia of the Blessed Virgin Mary, Michael Glazier, 1982, p. 49).

What Did the Church Fathers Say?

Since both sides in the dispute over Mary’s Perpetual Virginity, pro and con, make scriptural arguments to support their position, how are we to determine who is right? Who is interpreting Scripture correctly, in the authentically apostolic way?

One way to provide support is to consult Christianity’s ancient historical writings, commonly known as the writings of the Early Church Fathers.

Clement of Alexandria, for instance, at the start of the third century wrote, “This Mother alone was without milk, because she alone did not become a wife. She is at once both Virgin and Mother” (The Instructor of the Children 1:6:42:1).

Clement’s pupil, Origen, in the first decades of that century, confirmed that Mary “had no other son but Jesus” (Commentaries on John 1:6). Elsewhere, he wrote, “And I think it in harmony with reason that Jesus was the first-fruit among men of the purity which consists in chastity, and Mary was among women; for it were not pious to ascribe to any other than her the first-fruit of virginity” (Commentaries on Matthew 2:17).

Along with his extravagant praise for her, Athanasius (d. 373) described Mary as “Ever-Virgin” (Discourses Against the Arians 2:70).

In about 375, Epiphanius argued, “Was there ever anyone of any breeding who dared to speak to the name of Holy Mary, and being questioned, did not immediately add, ‘the Virgin?'” (Panarion 78:6).

“Surely,” wrote Pope Siricius in 392, “we cannot deny that Your Reverence was perfectly justified in rebuking him on the score of Mary’s children, and that you had good reason to be horrified at the thought that another birth might issue from the same virginal womb from which Christ was born according to the flesh” (Letter to Anysius, Bishop of Thessalonica).

Ambrose commented in 396, “Imitate her, holy mothers, who in her only dearly beloved Son set forth so great an example of material virtue; for neither have you sweeter children, nor did the Virgin seek the consolation of being able to bear another son” (Letters 63:111).

Augustine of Hippo (d. 430) remarked, “A Virgin conceiving, a Virgin bearing, a Virgin pregnant, a Virgin bringing forth, a Virgin perpetual. Why do you wonder at this, O man? It was fitting for God to be born thus, when He deigned to become a man” (Sermons 186:1).

Pope Leo the Great declared in 449, “He was conceived of the Holy Spirit within the womb of His Virgin Mother. She brought Him forth without the loss of virginity, even as she conceived Him without its loss” (Tome 28). Elsewhere the Pontiff wrote, “For a Virgin conceived, a Virgin bore, and a Virgin she remained” (Sermon on the Feast of the Nativity 22:2).

Thus, do we find an historical continuity of this teaching from the early years of the faith down to today.


  1. See “The Church Presents Mary as ‘Ever Virgin;'” L’Osservatore Romano, Weekly Edition in English, September 4, 1996.
  2. “An argument against this, though,” observed Karl Keating, “is that James is elsewhere (Mt 10:3) described as the son of Alphaeus, which would mean that Mary, whoever she was, was the wife of both Cleophas and Alphaeus. One solution is that she was widowed once, then remarried. More probably Alphaeus and Cleophas (Clopas in Greek) are the same person, since the Aramaic name for Alphaeus could be rendered in Greek in different ways, either as Alphaeus or Clopas. Another possibility is that Alphaeus took a Greek name similar to his Jewish name, the way that Saul took the name Paul” (Catholicism and Fundamentalism, Ignatius Press, 1988, p. 288).