Les sacrements

Comme son nom l'indique, les sacrements sont des rites sacrés institués dans l'Église par Jésus. A proprement parler, il ya sept sacrements de la foi catholique: Baptême, Confirmation, la Eucharistie, Aveu, Mariage, Ordres, et le Onction des malades.

Image of The Seven Sacraments by Rogier Van Der Weyden

A travers les Sacrements croyants reçoivent la grâce de Dieu à travers les choses matérielles comme l'eau, pain, vin et d'huile.

Les Sacrements peuvent être compris comme des signes extérieurs qui transmettent la grâce qu'ils signifient. Eau, par example, signifie la propreté et de la vie. Par la grâce de Dieu, les eaux du baptême nettoyer effectivement l'âme du péché et le remplir avec la vie divine (voir Évangile de Jean, 3:5, et le Actes des Apôtres, 2:38). Les sacrements sont calqué sur l'Incarnation, dans laquelle Dieu, un être spirituel, a pris chair humaine–et l'invisible est devenu visible.

L'idée de la grâce d'être transféré à travers les choses matérielles est un concept biblique.

Dans le Nouveau Testament seul, nous voyons l'eau utilisée de cette manière (de nouveau, voir John 3:5; 9:7; Actes des Apôtres, 8:37; Paul Lettre à Tite 3:5; ou Pierre Première lettre 3:20 – 21); ainsi que l'huile (voir le Evangile de Marc 6:13, ou la Lettre de James 5:14); argile (voir John 9:6); habits (Marque 5:25 ou Luke 8:43); et même des mouchoirs (voir le Actes des Apôtres 19:11-12).

La grâce de Dieu est transmise à travers d'autres choses sensibles, aussi, tels que Mary la voix et l'ombre de Pierre (voir le Evangile de Luc 1:41, 44, et le Actes des Apôtres 5:15, respectivement).

The Sacraments

As the name implies, the Sacraments are sacred rites instituted in the Church by Jesus. Properly speaking, there are seven Sacraments in the Catholic faith: Baptism, Confirmation, the Eucharist, Confession, Matrimony, Orders, and the Anointing of the Sick.

Image of The Seven Sacraments by Rogier Van Der Weyden

Through the Sacraments believers receive God’s grace through material things like water, bread, wine and oil.

The Sacraments may be understood as outward signs that convey the grace they signify. Water, for example, signifies cleanliness and life. By the grace of God, the waters of Baptism actually cleanse the soul of sin and fill it with divine life (see Gospel of John, 3:5, and the Acts of the Apostles, 2:38). The Sacraments are patterned after the Incarnation, in which God, a spiritual being, took on human flesh–and the invisible one became visible.

The idea of grace being transferred through material things is a Biblical concept.

In the New Testament alone, we see water used in this way (again, see John 3:5; 9:7; Acts of the Apostles, 8:37; Paul’s Letter to Titus 3:5; or Peter’s First Letter 3:20 – 21); as well as oil (see the Gospel of Mark 6:13, or the Letter of James 5:14); clay (see John 9:6); garments (Mark 5:25 or Luke 8:43); and even handkerchiefs (see the Acts of the Apostles 19:11-12).

God’s grace is transmitted through other sensible things, too, such as Mary’s voice and Peter’s shadow (see the Gospel of Luke 1:41, 44, and the Acts of the Apostles 5:15, respectively).