如果上帝是好的, 为什么有苦难?

人的堕落

Image of Christ as the Man of Sorrow by Albrecht Durer上帝没有造人受苦.

他做了亚当和夏娃, 我们的始祖, 是不透疼痛和死亡.

痛苦被邀请到世界,当他们把他们的回神. 在这个意义上, 苦难是创造不是神而是人, 要么, 至少, 对人的行为的后果.

因为从神使亚当和夏娃的悖逆分离, 整个人类不得不忍受煎熬 (见 创世纪 3:16 和保罗的 致罗马人书 5:19).

虽然我们可以接受这个事实作为一个信条, 它肯定不会让任何更容易处理痛苦在我们自己的生活. 面对苦难, 我们可能会发现自己很想质问上帝的善良,甚至他的存在. 然而,事情的真相是 上帝不会导致痛苦, 尽管有时他确实 允许 它发生.

神本质上是好的,, 因此, 没有能力造成的邪恶. 如果他允许邪恶的发生, 他这样做总是以带来更大的利益 (见保罗 致罗马人书 8:28).

这是人类堕落的情况下,: 上帝允许我们失去伊甸园的尘世喜悦只提供给我们, 通过他的儿子的牺牲, 天堂的卓越辉煌.

在他被捕的晚上祈祷在客西马尼园, 耶稣给了我们,我们如何完美的例子反应,当苦难来到我们. 首先,他要求父亲带从他的痛苦. 随后,他补充, “不是我的意愿, 但祢, 做完了” (卢克 22:42).

大图

如此祈祷需要在神的善良重托: 那他渴望我们的幸福,甚至比我们多,而且他真的知道什么是最适合我们. 对于我们确定, 与此相反的, 上帝是没有爱心的,允许苦难是从我们有限的人类智慧审判他. “你在哪里,当我奠定大地的根基?“他会询问我们. “告诉我, 如果你了解“ (岗位 38:4). 我们根本无法看到所有神看. 我们无法理解所有隐藏的方法,使他利用不利的情况下,带领他的孩子们的心灵走向忏悔,并实现我们的精神完美. 虽然我们倾向于在看到这种生活,我们的最终好犯错, 上帝看到了更广阔的画面, 永恒的画面. 他正确地理解我们的最终好是为他创造了我们的目的: 生活和幸福与他永远在天上.

要进入神的存在,在天堂需要我们转变: 我们堕落的人性进行圣洁; 对于圣经说, “没有什么不洁的,不得进入 [苍天]” (见启示录 21:27). (欲了解更多有关此主题, 请参阅我们的网页 炼狱, 宽恕 & 后果.

这成圣过程涉及的痛苦. “除非一粒麦子不落在地里死了,“耶稣说:, “它仍然独; 但如果死, 就结出许多果实. 他谁爱他的生活​​失去了它, 和他谁不喜欢他的生活在这个世界上保持了永恒的生命“ (约翰· 12:24-25).

这是痛苦断绝我们过分附件这个世界的东西, 但等待着我们的世界来的回报是值得的成本. 在未出生的孩子肯定会更愿意留在母亲的子宫里的黑暗熟悉. 他曾在那里生活了九个月; 这是他知道的唯一现实. 要采取从这个舒适的地方进了世上的光是痛苦的. 然而,其中我们感到遗憾, 甚至记得, 他的出生之痛, 他进入这个世界?

少了这么多我们将尘世的痛苦事给我们,一旦我们进入天堂的现实. 无论什么样的痛苦,我们现在可持久, 或者可以忍受在未来, 我们得安慰知道这辈子的痛苦是暂时的,他们, 太, 应天通和天堂的喜悦是完整的和永恒的.

启示录 (21:4) 说, “[上帝] 应从他们一切的眼泪拭去, 死亡应不, 也不再有悲哀,哭在痛苦, 因为以前的事都过去了。“这就是神如何能抵挡看见我们, 他心爱的孩子, 在这里挨一时间在地球上. 从他的角度, 我们地上痛苦传递一个眨眼, 而我们的生活与他在天堂, 我们的幸福, 将没有尽头.

基督教信仰是从所有其他宗教,它单独教导,神变成了人分开设置–我们中的一员–受苦,死 我们的 罪. “[H]Ë被打伤为我们的过犯,“先知以赛亚说 (53:5), “他被撞伤了我们的罪孽; 在他身上是使我们整个刑罚, 并与他的刑罚我们得平安。“

记, 耶稣, 是神, 是 (并且是) 无罪, 但他 痛苦是难以忍受 代表我们, 和我们, 人类, 通过耶稣基督受难被赎回.

这是事实,他代表我们的苦难并没有从我们的生活中删除所有的痛苦. 与此相反的, 作为使徒保罗在写他的 敬告Phillipians (1:29), “它已经被授予你,为基督的缘故,你不应该只相信他,但也为他受苦。”

这么, 通过我们的实验,我们被带到更接近基督,并提出甚至在他的荣耀分享 (看到保罗的 第二封信科林蒂安, 1:5). 如此紧密的耶稣认同一个谁遭受的患者成为他生活的图像. 看到那些可怜的灵魂的面孔经常特蕾莎修女说话, 其中她从加尔各答的排水沟检索, 耶稣很有面子.

Image of Hell by Dirk Bouts这么, 基督的激情并没有带走自己的个人痛苦, 但把它改造. 正如教宗若望保禄大写到,“在基督的十字架不仅是通过苦难完成的救赎, 也是人类苦难本身已经赎回“ (救赎苦难 19).

在苦难是上帝允许走进我们的生活, 当联盟与基督在十字架上的痛苦提供, 采取一个救赎的质量,并可以提供给上帝灵魂的救赎. 为了我们, 然后, 痛苦是没有泯灭的目的; 显着, 这是获得神的恩典的手段. 疼痛是一种工具,通过它上帝可能会影响我们的成圣, 精神修剪一个方法可能会说.

希伯来书 (5:8) 告诉我们耶稣, 自己,

“通过他所遭受的学了顺从。”而信继续, “因为耶和华管教他,他爱的人, 并严厉批评他的人接受每儿子. 这是纪律,你必须忍受. 上帝对待你的儿子; 焉有儿子有没有人他的父亲不自律? ... [父亲] 管教我们对我们的好, 我们可以在他的圣洁分享. 就目前所有的学科,似乎痛苦,而不是愉快; 后来它产生义那些谁都受过它的和平果实。” (12:6-7, 10-11)

抓救赎苦难的概念, 圣保罗交代他在信中向歌罗西书 1:24, “在我的肉我完成所缺乏基督的苦难,为了自己的身体, 这是教会。“

这并不意味着, 当然, 基督受难是在任何方面不足. 他代表我们的牺牲,这本身就是非常完整的,有效的. 然而,, 鉴于他的激情, 耶稣呼召我们拿起我们的十字架来跟从他; 说情彼此, 在模仿他, 通过祈祷和痛苦 (见 卢克 9:23 和保罗的 首字母给提摩太 2:1-3).

同样, 在他的第一封信 (3:16), 圣约翰写道:, “通过这一点,我们知道爱, 他献出了自己的生命为我们; 我们应该放下我们的生活的弟兄。“

“谁信我也会做,我做的工作,“耶和华说:; “比这更大的会怎么做, 因为我去的父亲“ (约翰· 14:12). 这么, 耶稣渴望我们的救赎工作的参与不是出于需要,但出于爱, 类似于如何在地上的父亲看起来包括他的儿子在他的活动. 我们说情彼此, 而且, 借鉴了基督与神的独特和孤立调解 (看到保罗的第一个字母给提摩太, 再次, 2:5).

为了确定, 我们所做的一切取决于他做了什么,并就不可能离开它. 正如耶稣在约翰说 15:5, “我是葡萄树, 你们是枝子. 他谁在我遵守, 而我在他身上, 他它是结出许多子粒, 因为离了我,你可以什么都不做。“所以,, 这是我们自己愿意为他受苦,用他那“缺乏,“用保罗的任期, 在基督的苦难.

通过联合我们的痛苦,以他为我们的拯救和他人的救赎参与基督的救赎工作的邀请的确是一个了不起的安慰. 立斯的圣德兰写道:

“在世界上, 就在早上醒来我常想在什么可能会出现两种令人高兴或无理取闹白天; 如果我预见只是想活动中,我出现了萎靡不振. 现在是完全不一样的: 我想,等待着我的困难和痛苦, 我上升更令人喜悦,充满勇气,我越预见证明我的爱耶稣的机会... . 然后,我吻我的十字架,躺在它温柔的枕头,而我穿衣服, 我对他说:: “我的耶稣, 你所有的工作不够,在三和30年你生活的哭够了这个可怜的地球上. 你带着你的休息. ......轮到我这是受苦,打“” (律师和回忆).

Image of Haywain by Hieronymus Bosch虽然痛苦工会与主耶稣是有希望的–虽然还疼–从他的痛苦与众不同的是苦涩而空.

在这种情况下,, 有苦难没有价值, 和世界的运行–力求避免它不惜一切代价–或指责的人对他的不幸. 例如, 一些看到的痛苦和希望作为惩罚时移情别恋入狱神, 或痛苦和最终死亡, 说, 肺癌是由个人信仰的缺失所带来的. 事实上, 还有人谁相信神要每一个信徒的生活远离疾病和疾病完全免费; 它是由人来决定,或者贫穷是当上帝应许繁荣的罪过.

圣经, 当然, 完全驳斥这个角度任何次数, 包括山中布道 马修 5, “有福是那些谁饥渴慕义, 因为他们必得饱足,” 和 卢克 6:20, 例如, “祝福你差...,“和”你有祸了富含“ (卢克 6:24; CF. 马修 6:19-21; 该 詹姆斯的信 2:5).

岗位, 其中圣经描述为“完全正直” (岗位 2:3), 遭受疾病, 亲人去世, 和他的财物的损失.

圣母玛利亚, 谁是无罪 (卢克 1:28), 遭受排斥, 无家可归, 迫害, 和她Son-的“剑的损失也应穿透你自己的灵魂,“西蒙曾透露她 (卢克 2:35).

施洗约翰, 耶稣的前兆, “穿骆驼毛的衣服”吃“蝗虫野蜜” (马修 3:4). 蒂莫西·慢性胃病遭遇 (看到保罗的 首字母给提摩太 5:23); 和保罗不得不离开他的同事, 特罗, 因病背后 (看到保罗公司的S的Econd信给提摩太 4:20).

还有, 当圣彼得试探耶稣放弃的激情, 耶稣回答, “给我的背后, 撒但! 你是一个阻碍我; 因为你不是神的一面, 但男人“ (马修 16:23).

事实上, 而绕过跨任何企图获得荣誉是恶魔的性质 (CF. 蒂姆·斯台普斯, 引用富尔顿Ĵ. 辛, “天主教回答现场”广播节目 [二月 24, 2004]; 可在catholic.com).

接近他的生命结束, 同彼得, 谁曾经被指责通过耶稣要他避免痛苦, 声明忠实:

“在这个 [天上的继承] 你欣喜, 但如今一小会儿,你可能要遭受种种考验, 使你信心的真实性, 比黄金更珍贵的,虽然这是易腐烂被火测试, 可能回报赞美和荣耀和尊贵,在耶稣基督的启示。“ (彼得 第一个字母 1:6-7)

这么, 这值得么?

要回答这个问题, 我们可以把圣徒保罗在他的信给罗马人 8:18: “我认为这个现在的苦楚再没有值得与被透露给我们的荣耀相比。”

在这方面, 我们绝不能忽视奖: 有一天,, 上帝的恩典, 我们每个人在这里会看到主耶稣基督在他的王国; 谁知他发光的脸; 听到他的天使般的声音; 并亲吻他的神圣的手和脚, 伤者为我们着想. 直到那一天, 我们可以宣布就像阿西西的圣弗朗西斯 十字架之路, “我们爱你, 基督啊, 我们祝福你, 因为你的圣十字您已经赎回了世界. 阿门。“

If God Is Good, Why Is There Suffering?

The Fall of Man

Image of Christ as the Man of Sorrow by Albrecht DurerGod did not create man to suffer.

He made Adam and Eve, our first parents, to be impervious to pain and death.

Suffering was invited into the world when they turned their back on God. In that sense, suffering is the creation not of God but of man, or, at least, a consequence of Man’s actions.

Because of the separation from God caused by Adam and Eve’s disobedience, the entire human race has had to endure suffering (see Genesis 3:16 and Paul’s Letter to the Romans 5:19).

While we may accept this truth as an article of faith, it certainly does not make it any easier to deal with the suffering in our own lives. Faced with suffering, we may find ourselves tempted to question God’s goodness and even His very existence. Yet the truth of the matter is God never causes suffering, though at times He does allow it to happen.

God is good by nature and, therefore, incapable of causing evil. If He permits evil to occur, He does so always in order to bring about a greater good (See Paul’s Letter to the Romans 8:28).

This is the case in the Fall of Man: God permitted us to lose the earthly joy of Eden only to make available to us, through the sacrifice of His Son, the superior splendor of Heaven.

Praying in the Garden of Gethsemane on the night of His arrest, Jesus gave us the perfect example of how we are to react when suffering comes to us. First he asked the Father to take the pain from Him. He then added, “Not my will, but thine, be done” (Luke 22:42).

The Big Picture

To pray this prayer requires great trust in God’s goodness: that He desires our happiness even more than we do and that He truly knows what is best for us. For us to determine, to the contrary, that God is unloving for allowing suffering is to judge Him from our limited human intellect. “Where were you when I laid the foundation of the earth?” He might inquire of us. “Tell me, if you have understanding” (Job 38:4). We simply cannot see all that God sees. We cannot comprehend all the hidden ways by which He uses adverse circumstances to steer the hearts of His children towards repentance and to achieve in us spiritual perfection. While we tend to err in seeing this life as our ultimate good, God sees the broader picture, the eternal picture. He rightly understands our ultimate good to be the purpose for which He created us: to live and be happy with Him forever in Heaven.

To come into God’s presence in Heaven requires that we be transformed: that our fallen human nature be made holy; for Scripture says, “Nothing unclean shall enter [Heaven]” (see the Book of Revelation 21:27). (For more on this topic, please see our page on Purgatory, Forgiveness & Consequences.

This sanctification process involves suffering. “Unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth and dies,” says Jesus, “it remains alone; but if it dies, it bears much fruit. He who loves his life loses it, and he who hates his life in this world will keep it for eternal life” (John 12:24-25).

It is painful to sever our undue attachments to the things of this world, but the reward that awaits us in the world to come is worth the cost. The unborn child certainly would prefer to remain in the dark familiarity of his mother’s womb. He has lived there for nine months; it is the only reality he knows. To be taken from this comfortable place and brought into the light of the world is painful. Yet which of us regrets, or even remembers, the pain of his birth, his entry into this world?

So much less will our earthly pain matter to us once we have entered into the reality of Heaven. Regardless of what sufferings we may be enduring now, or may endure in the future, we are comforted to know that the pains of this life are only temporary—that they, too, shall day pass—and that the joy of Heaven is complete and everlasting.

The Book of Revelation (21:4) says, “[God] shall wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning nor crying in pain, for the former things have passed away.” And this is how God is able to withstand seeing us, His beloved children, suffer here for a time on earth. From His perspective, our earthly sufferings pass in the blink of an eye, while our lives with Him in Heaven, our happiness, will be without end.

The Christian Faith is set apart from all other religions in that it alone teaches that God became a man–one of us–to suffer and die for our sins. “[H]e was wounded for our transgressions,” says the prophet Isaiah (53:5), “he was bruised for our iniquities; upon him was the chastisement that made us whole, and with his stripes we are healed.”

Remember, that Jesus, being God, was (and is) sinless, yet his suffering was excruciating on our behalf, and we, the human race, were redeemed through the Passion of Jesus Christ.

It is true that His suffering on our behalf has not removed all the pain from our lives. To the contrary, as the Apostle Paul wrote in his Letter to the Phillipians (1:29), “It has been granted to you that for the sake of Christ you should not only believe in him but also suffer for his sake.”

So, through our trials we are brought ever closer to Christ and come even to share in His glory (see Paul’s Second Letter to the Corinthians, 1:5). So closely does Jesus identify with the one who suffers that the sufferer becomes a living image of Him. Mother Teresa spoke often of seeing in the faces of those wretched souls, whom she retrieved from the gutters of Calcutta, the very face of Jesus.

Image of Hell by Dirk BoutsSo, Christ’s Passion has not taken away our own personal suffering, but transformed it. As Pope John Paul the Great wrote,“In the Cross of Christ not only is the Redemption accomplished through suffering, but also human suffering itself has been redeemed” (Salvifici Doloris 19).

The sufferings which God allows to come into our lives, when offered in union with the sufferings of Christ on the Cross, take on a redemptive quality and may be offered to God for the salvation of souls. For us, then, suffering is not devoid of purpose; remarkably, it is a means of obtaining God’s grace. Pain is an instrument through which God may effect our sanctification, a way of spiritual pruning one might say.

The Letter to the Hebrews (5:8) tells us Jesus, Himself,

“learned obedience through what he suffered.” And the letter continues, “For the Lord disciplines him whom he loves, and chastises every son whom he receives. It is for discipline that you have to endure. God is treating you as sons; for what son is there whom his father does not discipline? … [The Father] disciplines us for our good, that we may share in his holiness. For the moment all discipline seems painful rather than pleasant; later it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it.” (12:6-7, 10-11)

Grasping the concept of redemptive suffering, Saint Paul confessed in his Letter to the Colossians 1:24, “In my flesh I complete what is lacking in Christ’s afflictions for the sake of his body, that is the Church.”

This does not imply, of course, that Christ’s Passion was in any way insufficient. His Sacrifice on our behalf is in itself perfectly complete and efficacious. Yet, in view of His Passion, Jesus calls us to pick up our cross and follow Him; to intercede for one another, in imitation of Him, through prayer and suffering (see Luke 9:23 and Paul’s First Letter to Timothy 2:1-3).

Similarly, in his First Letter (3:16), Saint John writes, “By this we know love, that he laid down his life for us; and we ought to lay down our lives for the brethren.”

“He who believes in me will also do the works that I do,” says the Lord; “and greater works than these will he do, because I go to the Father” (John 14:12). So, Jesus desires our participation in the work of redemption not out of necessity but out of love, similar to how an earthly father looks to include his son in his activities. Our intercession for one another, moreover, draws upon Christ’s unique and solitary mediation with God (see Paul’s First Letter to Timothy, again, 2:5).

To be sure, all that we do depends upon what He has done and would be impossible apart from it. As Jesus said in John 15:5, “I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in me, and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.” So, It is our own willingness to suffer for Him and with Him that is “lacking,” to use Paul’s term, in the sufferings of Christ.

The invitation to participate in Christ’s redemptive work by uniting our sufferings to His for our salvation and the salvation of others is indeed a marvelous consolation. Saint Therese of Lisieux wrote:

“In the world, on awakening in the morning I used to think over what would probably occur either pleasing or vexatious during the day; and if I foresaw only trying events I arose dispirited. Now it is quite the other way: I think of the difficulties and the suffering that await me, and I rise more joyous and full of courage the more I foresee opportunities of proving my love for Jesus … . Then I kiss my crucifix and lay it tenderly on the pillow while I dress, and I say to him: ‘My Jesus, thou hast worked enough and wept enough during the three-and-thirty years of thy life on this poor earth. Take now thy rest. … My turn it is to suffer and to fight'” (Counsels and Reminisces).

Image of Haywain by Hieronymus BoschWhile suffering in union with the Lord Jesus is hopeful–though still painful–suffering apart from Him is bitter and empty.

In those cases, there is no value in suffering, and the world runs from it–seeking to avoid it at all costs–or blames the person for his misfortune. For example, some see pain and want as punishments meted out by God upon the faithless, or suffering and eventual death from, say, lung cancer as brought on by a personal lack of faith. In fact, there are people who believe that God intends for every believer to live completely free from sickness and disease; it is up to the person to decide or that Being poor is a sin when God promises prosperity.

The Bible, of course, completely refutes this perspective any number of times, including the Sermon of the Mount in Matthew 5, “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for justice, for they shall be satisfied,” and Luke 6:20, e.g., “Blessed are you poor …,” and “Woe to you that are rich” (Luke 6:24; cf. Matthew 6:19-21; the Letter of James 2:5).

Job, whom the Bible describes as “a blameless and upright man” (Job 2:3), suffered illness, the death of loved ones, and the loss of his possessions.

The Virgin Mary, who was sinless (Luke 1:28), suffered rejection, homelessness, persecution, and the loss of Her Son—“a sword shall pierce your own soul also,” Simeon had revealed to her (Luke 2:35).

John the Baptist, the Precursor of Jesus, “wore a garment of camel’s hair” and ate “locusts and wild honey” (Matthew 3:4). Timothy suffered from chronic stomach ailments (see Paul’s First Letter to Timothy 5:23); and Paul had to leave his co-worker, Trophimus, behind due to illness (see Paul’s Second Letter to Timothy 4:20).

Moreover, when the Saint Peter tempted Jesus to forgo the Passion, Jesus responded, “Get behind me, Satan! You are a hindrance to me; for you are not on the side of God, but of men” (Matthew 16:23).

In truth, any attempt to obtain glory while bypassing the Cross is demonic in nature (cf. Tim Staples, quoting Fulton J. Sheen, “Catholic Answers Live” radio program [February 24, 2004]; available at catholic.com).

Near the end of his life, the same Peter, who had once been rebuked by Jesus for wanting Him to avoid suffering, declared to the faithful:

“In this [heavenly inheritance] you rejoice, though now for a little while you may have to suffer various trials, so that the genuineness of your faith, more precious than gold which though perishable is tested by fire, may redound to praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ.” (Peter’s First Letter 1:6-7)

So, Is It Worth It?

To answer that question, we can turn to Saint Paul in his Letter to the Romans 8:18: “I consider that the sufferings of this present time re not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us.”

In that regard, we must never lose sight of the prize: that one day, by the grace of God, each of us here will see the Lord Jesus Christ in His Kingdom; behold His luminous face; hear His angelic voice; and kiss His sacred hands and feet, wounded for our sake. Till that day, we can proclaim like Saint Francis of Assisi in The Way of the Cross, “We adore You, O Christ, and we bless You, because by Your Holy Cross You have redeemed the world. Amen.”