是教皇无过失?

Image of Saint Peter by Giovanni Bellini天主教徒认为教皇确实无误, 但只有在信仰方面, 只有当四个非常满足特定条件时, 仅仅因为他是由圣灵引导.

教皇是一个男人, 像任何其他人, 教皇是一个堕落的罪人. 但是, 作为圣彼得的直接后继, 他是由圣灵,以避免对教会的教义的事项错误引导. 对于一些, 教皇似乎建立天主教徒理解圣经的屏障, 或者他甚至可能看起来像一种精神暴君, 使唤天主教徒他们必须相信. 正确理解, 虽然, 教皇是耶稣给他的教会为了让她从误入圣经错误的解释了巨大的礼物, 并帮助她成长为与他更深的关系.

有强有力的实证证据支持什么天主教徒认为关于教皇. 我们来看一下 …

绑定和宽松

也许对于理解彼得和教皇无误的首要地位,最重要的经文是 马太福音 16:17-19. 在这段话, 正如我们所看到, 彼得收到来自耶稣一个特殊的教学权威. 要设置舞台, 耶稣问十二使徒谁的人认为他是. 他们还给了一系列不正确的答案. 我们的主然后问他们, “谁让你说我?“ 在此刻, 使徒西门前进的脚步代表十二发言, 给出正确答案: “你是基督, 永生神的儿子。”为了这, 耶稣回应:

17 “祝福你, 西门巴约拿! 对于血肉没有透露这个给你, 但我的父亲是谁在天堂.

18 而且我告诉你, 你是彼得, 并在此岩石,我将建立我的教会, 和地狱的权力,应不会得逞反对.

19 我会给你天国的钥匙, 而不管你绑定在地上,在天上也要约束, 也不论在地球上你失去的,在天上也要释放。”

首先, 在诗 17, 耶和华祝福彼得, 肯定他的知识的问题不是人类的直觉, 但神的启示.

秒, 在诗 18, 他给西蒙他的新名字, 彼得, 履行他的话,以他从 约翰福音 1:42. 耶稣承诺在他建立他的教会.

第三, 在诗 19, 耶稣给彼得天国,并结合权威和松散的按键的礼物 (在犹太教语言这意味着 禁止允许), 向他保证,他的俗世的决定将在天堂得到维护. 这是问题的症结所在! 彼得在地球上教的东西会被维持在天堂上帝的真理. 很明显, 因为他是不完善和罪人, 彼得必须给予特别的恩典,以防止他发出任何违背上帝的旨意命令. 这种特别的恩典就是天主教徒称教皇无误. 没有它, 上帝会在具有位置确认假道为真,这, 当然, 将是一件不可能的事,因为他是真理本身 (见 约翰· 14:6). 为了把它的另一种方式, 如果能够为教会的领袖尘世作出错误的教学时忠实的结合, 然后教会缺乏神圣稳定性,耶稣向她保证,当他答应地狱之门就不能战胜自己 (马特. 16:18).1

键天国

按键的象征来自于古老的习俗由国王任命的王国他的皇家管家监工在他缺席和委托他的钥匙,它的大门.

在里面 先知以赛亚书, 主严厉地解决了王的管家, 舍伯那, 话, “我会推你从你的办公室, 你会从你的站被抛弃. ... 我会放在 [你的继任者] 肩负大卫家的钥匙; 他开, 无人能关; 他关, 无人开放” (22:19, 22; 进一步强调).2

耶稣是万王之王, “圣者, 真正的一个, 谁拥有大卫的钥匙, 谁打开,任何人不得关闭, 谁关上了,没有一个打开” (泄露 3:7; 也可以看看 1:18 和 岗位 12:14). 于 马修 16:19, 基督国王任命彼得成为他的管家,负责教会, 他在地上的国度, 在他缺席. 这样做, 上帝不会放弃他的最高权威, 任何比古代君主更放弃他们自己的管家.

彼得的教导犯错误, 其中一个瞥见他在该撒利亚腓立告白 (马特. 16), 在耶路撒冷的著名委员会明显, 在这使徒开会决定是否需要拯救遵守摩西律法.

圣路加的账户, 在里面 使徒行传, 显示圣灵通过教会的讲话 训导 (或“教学办公室”)-那是, 通过使徒组件 (或主教) 在与彼得工会 (教皇) - 要决定性地解决这一理论上的争议 (15:28). 具体来说, 这是彼得谁平息争议; 这是他的讲话带来的辩论接近尾声 (15:7). 虽然圣詹姆斯, 耶路撒冷主教, 被赋予缓和理事会荣誉, 这是彼得谁与詹姆斯的闭幕词解决了大会学说确认他的指示.

Fresco of the Popes by Sandro Botticelli

当确实无误论举行?

对教皇的绝对可靠性天主教教学常常误解. 为了使语句资格犯错, 某些条件必须得到满足. 罗马教皇必须:

  1. 打算发言,为普世教会的牧师. 相比之下, 他经常说,作为一个私人神学家还是普通主教, 这样他谈到,当朝圣聚集在圣彼得广场. 在这些情况下, 教皇的绝对正确不发挥作用.
  2. 在信仰和道德的发音事项. 有关其他任何主题发言 (如政治或科学) 不符合条件.
  3. 有意渲染,将在所有忠实地结合不可改变的决定. 建立一个快速的, 一本书的禁止, 或特定组或个人的责难, 仅仅是纪律处分的所有实例, 这是可逆的,, 因此, 并非万无一失.
  4. 必须与意志的完全同意发言. 在胁迫下说出的话就不算数. 他打算发言,准确无误必须明确, 无论是教皇直接或通过周围的宣判情况.

虽然罗马教皇的声明可能满足这些要求的一个或多个, 这是必要的,所有的要求,以满足它被认为是万无一失.

它的教学, 未开展!

人们常常错误地认为,教皇的个人失败反驳他的一贯正确, 但 一贯正确与教学做, 不进行. 还有, 耶稣的命令要服从他的中介 (见 卢克 10:16 和 马修 18:17) 在他们的道德操守并没有为条件 (见 马修 23:2-3).

在旧约, 大卫仍以色列的合法国王,尽管他的罪 (看到塞缪尔第二本书, 11:1). 他的儿子, 所罗门王, 有七百妻子和三百妾, 甚至搞偶像崇拜, 但他也仍然是上帝的选民的任命领导四十年 (看到国王的第一本书, 11:3, 5, 7, 33, 42). 还有, 考虑十二使徒, 谁是新约教会的第一领袖, 并通过主自己挑选!

  • 一个背叛了他三十块钱的;
  • 但所有的弃一个他在他最需要的时刻;
  • 彼得否认,他甚至不知道他 (见 马修, 26:20, 等。);
  • 即使复活后, 托马斯有信心的危机 (见 约翰· 20:24-25);
  • 彼得显示偏执 (见 加拉太书 2:11-14); 和
  • 保罗承认, “我不明白我自己的行动. 对于我没有做我想做的, 但我确实非常的事我说我不想做” (罗马书 7:15).

但是, 教会领导人的罪恶不坏自己的权威, 也不在教皇的情况下,均不影响其正确无误地定义教条能力. 我们看到在福音, 事实上, 大祭司, 该亚法, 保留预言的礼物,尽管他的罪性 (见 约翰· 11:49-52, 下面“当然cathedra和摩西”).

教会并不突出,因为她领导的个人神圣的, 但由于基督的应许派圣灵引导她“一切的真理” (约翰· 16:13).

什么是反对教皇无误的参数?

马修 16:23
在他们的努力反驳教皇无误, 批评者经常提及 马修 16:23 在耶稣责备彼得, “为我的背后, 撒但! 你是一个阻碍我; 因为你不是神的一面, 但男人。”主责备彼得这种方式,因为使徒, 恳求耶稣避免激情, 实际上类似于撒旦谁曾试探耶稣放弃他的使命 (见 马修 4:1, 等。). 主的责备不伤害彼得犯错误, 然而, 由于 使徒保罗的话构成了一个错误的私人判断,而不是教条式的教学.

加拉太书 2:11
另一个通道, 一些人认为反驳彼得犯错误, 在圣保罗的第二章中找到 信加拉太, 他在其中讲述了他与彼得在后者的拒绝对抗坐下来和外邦信徒吃 (2:11). 然, 因为保罗的训斥了议事故障”做,而不是教条的,”彼得犯错误是从来没有在问题 (特土良, 反对异端异议 23:10).

有些曲解这段话作为彼得的自卑保罗证明. 张女士说,保罗让他站在这样一个问题达彼得, 然而, 表明他相信他已经解决了优越. 正如圣奥古斯丁观察, “彼得留给那些在他以后的例子来, 该, 如果在任何时候,他们从正道偏离, 他们不应该认为它下面他们从那些谁是他们的后辈”接受修正 (信杰罗姆 82:22; 又见圣托马斯·阿奎那, 神学 2:33:4).

BAD教皇
虽然谬论在某些圈子里仍然存在,大多数教皇已大罪人, 真相是最彼得的继任者已经凭借优秀的男人. 批评者发现有利, 虽然, 要突出一些教皇的不道德行为在许多人的尊严.

天主教从未否认教皇是堕落的人类需要拯救的人一样. 天主教徒坚持要求什么, 然而, - 和什么历史所证明了,是没有教皇曾经正式信仰和道德教错误, 也不矛盾前任或理事会的决定教条.

教皇的教义完整性。我们反对任何及所有费用对手都提出反对. 每个案例, 从反天主教的扭曲被释放,并在适当的历史和神学方面采取的时, 表明天主教教义的神奇完整性, 尽管教会的领导人的全太人性.3

主席 摩西

当教皇说绝对无误, 他被说成是讲 从椅子, 这是拉丁语为“从座椅上。”权力的主要席位的概念来自旧约, 在摩西坐在人的判断 (见 出埃及记 18:13).

摩西的权威, 太, 通过管线接班人被延续 (见 申命记, 17:8-9; 34:9). 事实上, 摩西的座位依然 活跃的,直到基督的时间, 作为耶稣本人透露, 话, “文士和法利赛人坐在摩西的位; 所以实践和观察无论他们告诉你, 但不是他们做什么; 他们宣讲, 但不练” (见 马修 23:1-3).

在里面 圣约翰福音 我们看到祭司长和法利赛人的理事会大祭司该亚法的授权下召开 (11:49). 在理事会, 该亚法说出的预言, “这是你们有益的,一个人应该为人民死, 和整个民族应该不会灭亡” (11:50). 正如约翰笔记, 该亚法“并没有说这自己的协议, 但 (在考虑到他) 是大祭司一年” (11:51).

因此,, 神继续通过摩西的接班人说话 (不管他们的虔诚或邪恶的). 彼得应验在新约的类似作用, 作为基督在地上的代表或牧师上帝通过说话的人.

从而, 在教皇许多早期著作指的是单数的传统马赛克, 权威的椅子. 例如, 该 穆拉多利片段, 写在罗马A.D左右. 170, 状态, “不久以前,在我们这个时代, ...庇护主教, 坐在罗马城的教堂的椅子“。

同样,, 圣塞浦路斯, 迦太基主教, 在写 251, 提到这个座位机构的 (见 信Antonianus 55:8), 并且有时前年 325, 高卢的无名诗人声明, “在这把椅子上,他自己已经坐, 彼得, 在强大的罗马, 指挥莱纳斯, 第一位当选, 坐下” (伪良, 诗反对Marcionites 3:276-277).

埃及圣米加利阿斯 (ð. CA. 390) 写: “对于老摩西和亚伦, 当这祭司是他们的, 备受煎熬; 和该亚法, 当他有自己的椅子, 迫害,谴责主. ......后来摩西是由Peter成功, 谁犯了他的手基督的教会的新, 而真正的祭司” (讲道 26).

基督徒的合一

准确无误的界定学说的神恩是器乐教皇的使命是基督徒合一的明显迹象和源.

教宗为所有信徒的教义统一的作用在最后的晚餐中指出耶稣时,他对彼得说:, “西蒙, 西蒙, 谁知, 撒旦要求有你, 他可能会筛选你喜欢小麦, 但我已经为你祈求你们的信心可能不会失败; 当你再次打开, 强化你的弟兄” (卢克 22:31-32).

彼得给予确认他人的信念的责任. 为了使他能够做到这一点, 耶稣答应他,要赋予一个信念,不会失败, 那是, 犯错误的礼物. 因此,它是那些谁留顺服伯多禄权威有知道他们在与基督联合的教义与整个教会和最终的确定性, 该教会的头. 反过来, 那些谁脱离自己从这种权力,如冷淡教友, 东正教教会, 和新教团体,都出现了持续的分裂和内乱.4

往往我的羊

耶稣重申他彼得委员会作为他在加利利海的在天湖畔替代牧羊人复活以下. 那里, 耶稣要求他确认了他的爱情三次, 对应彼得以前否认 (见 马修 26:34, 等。).

爱的每个确认后, 耶稣吩咐他教导和照顾他的羊, 话, “喂养我的小羊. ......牧养我的羊. ......喂养我的羊” (约翰· 21:15, 16, 17). 主并没有放弃对羊的所有权, 对于他继续给他们打电话他自己,而他们委托给彼得.5 为了使教皇履行的办公室 替代牧羊人, 确保耶稣的羊被送到启示的真理丰满, 它是必要的他从教错误保障. 所以他一直在为近两千; 所以他应是直到主的回报.

  1. 这是事实,权威结合并松散还向使徒如在组 马修 18:18, 但按键的力量单独保留彼得. 至于接班人使徒, 天主教主教有集体力量来采取教条约束力的决定, 只要他们都聚集在一个大公会议 (代表全理事会, 普世教会) 和作用在共融与罗马主教, 彼得的继任者.
  2. 对于以赛亚的光彼得的办公室进行了深入的研究 22, 看到史蒂芬ķ. 射线, 在这磐石 (旧金山: 伊格内修斯新闻, 1999), p. 265.
  3. 对于各种争议事件在教皇的历史看沃伦卡罗尔彻底,负责任地处理, 基督教史, 二卷. 1-5 (Front Royal的, 弗吉尼亚州: 基督教新闻, 1985); 也帕特里克马德里, 教皇小说 (圣地亚哥: 大殿新闻, 1999).
  4. 东正教教会间的分工往往是自然文化, 而间经过的天主教徒和内基督教的分割通常沿着较浓线发生. 它也指出,对于东方教会, 自十一世纪分裂谁一直保持着或多或少的不完善工会与罗马, 分工已经比较温和了和声音学说, 大多, 被保留. 对于新教, 另一方面, 对于来自罗马的权威完全脱离一直是一个基本原则, 司一直猖獗, 导致数万的,成千上万的竞争教派.
  5. 见斯科特·巴特勒, 诺曼·达尔格伦, 和Rev. 先生. 大卫·赫斯, 耶稣, 彼得和钥匙 (圣巴巴拉, 加州: Queenship出版公司, 1996), p. 59; CF. 马特. 9:36-38.

Is the Pope Infallible?

Image of Saint Peter by Giovanni BelliniCatholics believe that the pope is indeed infallible, but only on matters of faith, only when four very specific conditions are met, and only because he is guided by the Holy Spirit.

The pope is a man, and like any other man, the pope is a fallen sinner. And yet, as the direct successor of Saint Peter, he is guided by the Holy Spirit to avoid errors on matters of Church doctrine. To some, the pope may seem to set up a barrier for Catholics understanding Scripture, or he may even seem like a kind of spiritual tyrant, dictating to Catholics what they must believe. Understood properly, though, the papacy is a tremendous gift that Jesus gave to His Church in order to keep her from straying into false interpretations of Scripture, and to help her grow into a deeper relationship with Him.

There is strong empirical evidence to support what Catholics believe about the pope. Let’s have a look …

Bind and Loose

Probably the most important Scripture passage for understanding the primacy of Peter and Papal Infallibility is the Gospel of Matthew 16:17-19. In this passage, as we will see, Peter receives a special teaching authority from Jesus. To set the stage, Jesus has asked the Twelve Apostles who people believe He is. They give back a series of incorrect answers. Our Lord then asks them, “Who do you say that I am?” At this point, the Apostle Simon steps forward to speak on behalf of the Twelve, giving the correct answer: “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.” To this, Jesus responds:

17 “Blessed are you, Simon Bar-Jona! For flesh and blood has not revealed this to you, but my Father who is in heaven.

18 And I tell you, you are Peter, and on this rock I will build my church, and the powers of hell shall not prevail against it.

19 I will give you the keys of the kingdom of heaven, and whatever you bind on earth shall be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven.”

First, in verse 17, the Lord blesses Peter, affirming his knowledge is a matter not of human intuition, but of divine revelation.

Second, in verse 18, He gives Simon his new name, Peter, fulfilling His words to him from the Gospel of John 1:42. And Jesus promises to build His Church upon him.

Third, in verse 19, Jesus gives Peter the gift of the keys of the kingdom of heaven and the authority to bind and loose (in rabbinical language this meant to forbid and permit), assuring him that his earthly decisions would be upheld in heaven. Here is the crux of the matter! The things which Peter teaches on earth will be upheld as truths by God in heaven. Clearly, because he is imperfect and a sinner, Peter must be given a special grace to prevent him from issuing commands that are contrary to the will of God. This special grace is what Catholics call Papal Infallibility. Without it, God would be in the position of having to confirm false doctrines as true—which, of course, would be an impossibility as He is Truth Itself (see John 14:6). To put it another way, if it is possible for the earthly leader of the Church to make an erroneous teaching binding upon the faithful, then the Church lacks the divine stability that Jesus assured her when He promised the gates of hell would not prevail against her (Matt. 16:18).1

Keys to the Kingdom of Heaven

The symbolism of the keys comes from the ancient custom by which the king appointed his royal steward overseer of the kingdom in his absence and entrusted him with the keys to its gates.

In the Book of the Prophet Isaiah, the Lord sternly addresses the king’s steward, Shebna, saying, “I will thrust you from your office, and you will be cast down from your station. … And I will place on [your successor’s] shoulder the key of the house of David; he shall open, and none shall shut; and he shall shut, and none shall open” (22:19, 22; emphasis added).2

Jesus is the King of kings, “the holy one, the true one, who has the key of David, who opens and no one shall shut, who shuts and no one opens” (Revelation 3:7; see also 1:18 and Job 12:14). In Matthew 16:19, Christ the King appoints Peter to be His steward to oversee the Church, His kingdom on earth, in His absence. In so doing, the Lord does not relinquish His supreme authority, any more than the ancient monarchs relinquished theirs to their stewards.

The teaching infallibility of Peter, which one glimpses in his confession at Caesarea Philippi (Matt. 16), is evident at the famous Council of Jerusalem, at which the Apostles meet to decide whether or not adherence to the Mosaic Law is required for salvation.

Saint Luke’s account, in the Acts of the Apostles, shows the Holy Spirit speaking through the Church’s Magisterium (or “teaching office”)—that is, through the assembly of the Apostles (or bishops) in union with Peter (the pope)—to conclusively settle this doctrinal dispute (15:28). Specifically, it is Peter who settles the dispute; it is his speech which brings the debate to a close (15:7). Although Saint James, as the Bishop of Jerusalem, is given the honor of moderating the council, it is Peter who addresses the assembly on doctrine with James’ closing remarks confirming his instruction.

Fresco of the Popes by Sandro Botticelli

When Does Infallibility Hold?

Catholic teaching on the infallibility of the Pope is frequently misconstrued. In order for a statement to qualify as infallible, certain criteria must be met. The Pope must:

  1. Intend to speak as the Pastor of the Universal Church. By contrast, he speaks quite often as a private theologian or an ordinary bishop, such as when he addresses pilgrims gathered in Saint Peter’s Square. In these instances, the Pope’s infallibility does not come into play.
  2. Pronounce on matters of faith and morals. Statements on any other subject (such as politics or science) do not qualify.
  3. Intend to render an irrevocable decision that will be binding upon all the faithful. The establishment of a fast, the banning of a book, or the censure of a particular group or individual, are all examples of mere disciplinary actions, which are reversible and, therefore, not infallible.
  4. Must speak with full consent of the will. Words uttered under duress would not count. His intention to speak infallibly must be made clear, either by the Pope directly or by the circumstances surrounding the pronouncement.

While a papal statement may meet one or more of these requirements, it is necessary that all of the requirements be met in order for it to be considered infallible.

It’s Teaching, not Conduct!

It is often wrongly assumed that the Pope’s personal failings disprove his infallibility, but infallibility has to do with teaching, not conduct. Furthermore, Jesus’ command to obey His intermediaries (see Luke 10:16 and Matthew 18:17) was not made contingent upon their moral integrity (see Matthew 23:2-3).

In the Old Testament, David remained the legitimate King of Israel despite his sins (see the Second Book of Samuel, 11:1). His son, King Solomon, had seven hundred wives and three hundred concubines, and even engaged in idolatry, yet he too remained the ordained leader of God’s chosen people for forty years (see the First Book of Kings, 11:3, 5, 7, 33, 42). Moreover, consider the Twelve Apostles, who were the first leaders of the New Testament Church, and were handpicked by the Lord Himself!

  • One betrayed Him for thirty pieces of silver;
  • All but one abandoned Him in His hour of greatest need;
  • Peter denied he even knew Him (see Matthew, 26:20, et al.);
  • Even after the Resurrection, Thomas had a crisis of faith (see John 20:24-25);
  • Peter displayed bigotry (see Galatians 2:11-14); and
  • Paul conceded, “I do not understand my own actions. For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I that I do not want to do” (Romans 7:15).

AND YET, the sinfulness of the Church’s leaders does not nullify their authority, nor in the case of the popes does it affect their ability to infallibly define dogma. We see in the Gospels, in fact, that the high priest, Caiaphas, retained the gift of prophecy in spite of his sinfulness (see John 11:49-52, below “Ex Cathedra and Moses”).

The Church does not stand because of her leaders’ personal sanctity, but because of Christ’s promise to send the Holy Spirit to guide her “into all the truth” (John 16:13).

What Are the Arguments Against Papal Infallibility?

MATTHEW 16:23
In their efforts to disprove Papal Infallibility, detractors often refer to Matthew 16:23 in which Jesus rebukes Peter, saying “Get behind me, Satan! You are a hindrance to me; for you are not on the side of God, but of men.” The Lord reproached Peter in this way because the Apostle, pleading for Jesus to avoid the Passion, in effect resembled Satan who had tempted Jesus to abandon His mission (see Matthew 4:1, et al.). The Lord’s rebuke does not injure Peter’s infallibility, however, since the Apostle’s words constitute an erroneous private judgment and not a dogmatic teaching.

GALATIANS 2:11
Another passage, which some believe disproves Peter’s infallibility, is found in the second chapter of Saint Paul’s Letter to the Galatians, in which he recounts his confrontation with Peter over the latter’s refusal to sit and eat with Gentile converts (2:11). However, because Paul’s rebuke had to do with a fault “of procedure and not of doctrine,” Peter’s infallibility was never at issue (Tertullian, The Demurrer Against the Heretics 23:10).

Some misinterpret this passage as proof of Peter’s inferiority to Paul. The very fact that Paul makes such an issue of his standing up to Peter, however, indicates he believed he had addressed a superior. As Saint Augustine observed, “Peter left to those that came after him an example, that, if at any time they deviated from the right path, they should not think it beneath them to accept correction from those who were their juniors” (Letter to Jerome 82:22;  see also Saint Thomas Aquinas, Summa Theologica 2:33:4).

BAD POPES
While the fallacy persists in some circles that the majority of popes have been great sinners, the truth is most of Peter’s successors have been men of outstanding virtue. Critics have found it advantageous, nevertheless, to highlight the immorality of a few popes over the sanctity of the many.

Catholics have never denied the popes are fallen human beings in need of salvation like everyone else. What Catholics insist upon, however,—and what history bears out—is that no pope has ever officially taught error on faith and morals, nor contradicted the dogmatic decision of a predecessor or council.

The doctrinal integrity of the Papacy has stood against any and all charges adversaries have raised against it. Each case, when freed from anti-Catholic distortions and taken in the proper historical and theological context, demonstrates the miraculous integrity of Catholic dogma, in spite of the all-too-human nature of the Church’s leaders.3

Ex Cathedra and Moses

When the Pope speaks infallibly, he is said to be speaking ex cathedra, which is Latin for “from the chair.” The concept of a primary seat of authority comes from the Old Testament, in which Moses sat in judgment of the people (see Exodus 18:13).

Moses’ authority, too, was perpetuated through a line of successors (see Deuteronomy, 17:8-9; 34:9). In fact, the Seat of Moses remained active till the time of Christ, as Jesus Himself revealed, saying, “The scribes and the Pharisees sit on Moses’ seat; so practice and observe whatever they tell you, but not what they do; for they preach, but do not practice” (see Matthew 23:1-3).

In the Gospel of Saint John we see a council of the chief priests and Pharisees convening under the authority of the high priest Caiaphas (11:49). At the council, Caiaphas utters the prophecy, “It is expedient for you that one man should die for the people, and that the whole nation should not perish” (11:50). As John notes, Caiaphas “did not say this of his own accord, but (on account of his) being high priest that year” (11:51).

Thus, God continued to speak through the successors of Moses (regardless of their piety or wickedness). Peter fulfilled a similar role in the New Covenant, serving as Christ’s earthly representative or vicar through whom God speaks to the people.

Accordingly, many early writings on the Papacy refer to the Mosaic tradition of the singular, authoritative chair. For example, the Muratorian Fragment, written in Rome around A.D. 170, states, “Quite recently in our time, … Bishop Pius, sat in the chair of the church of the city of Rome.”

Likewise, Saint Cyprian, the Bishop of Carthage, writing in 251, made reference to this seat of authority (see Letter to Antonianus 55:8), and sometime before the year 325, an anonymous poet of Gaul declared, “In this chair in which he himself had sat, Peter, In mighty Rome, commanded Linus, the first elected, to sit down” (Pseudo-Tertullian, Poem Against the Marcionites 3:276-277).

Saint Macarius of Egypt (d. ca. 390) wrote: “For of old Moses and Aaron, when this priesthood was theirs, suffered much; and Caiaphas, when he had their chair, persecuted and condemned the Lord. … Afterwards Moses was succeeded by Peter, who had committed to his hands the new Church of Christ, and the true priesthood” (Homily 26).

Christian Unity

The charism of infallibly in defining doctrine is instrumental to the Pope’s mission to be the visible sign and source of Christian unity.

The Pope’s role of providing doctrinal unity for all believers was indicated by Jesus at the Last Supper when He said to Peter, “Simon, Simon, behold, Satan demanded to have you, that he might sift you like wheat, but I have prayed for you that your faith may not fail; and when you have turned again, strengthen your brethren” (Luke 22:31-32).

Peter was given the duty of confirming the faith of the others. To enable him to do this, Jesus promised to bestow upon him a faith that would not fail, that is, the gift of infallibility. So it is that those who remain obedient to the Petrine authority have the certainty of knowing they are united in doctrine with the whole Church and ultimately with Christ, the Head of the Church. Conversely, those who have detached themselves from this authority—such as lapsed Catholics, the Eastern Orthodox Churches, and the Protestant communities—have suffered ongoing division and strife.4

Tend My Sheep

Jesus renewed His commission of Peter as His vicarious shepherd on the shores of the Sea of Galilee in the days following the Resurrection. There, Jesus asked him to confirm his love for Him three times, corresponding to Peter’s previous denials (see Matthew 26:34, et al.).

After each affirmation of love, Jesus commanded him to teach and care for His sheep, saying, “Feed my lambs. … Tend my sheep. … Feed my sheep” (John 21:15, 16, 17). The Lord did not relinquish ownership of the sheep, for He continued to call them His own while entrusting them to Peter.5 In order for the Pope to fulfill the office of vicarious shepherd, to ensure Jesus’ sheep are fed the fullness of revealed truth, it is necessary for him to be safeguarded from teaching error. And so he has been for nearly two millennia; and so he shall be till the Lord’s return.

  1. It is true that the authority to bind and loose was also given to the Apostles as a group in Matthew 18:18, but the power of the keys was reserved for Peter alone. As the successors to the Apostles, Catholic bishops have the collective power to take dogmatically binding decisions, so long as they are gathered in an ecumenical council (a council representing the whole, universal Church) and acting in communion with the Bishop of Rome, Peter’s successor.
  2. For an in-depth study of Peter’s office in light of Isaiah 22, see Stephen K. Ray, Upon This Rock (San Francisco: Ignatius Press, 1999), p. 265.
  3. For a thorough and responsible handling of various controversial episodes in the history of the Papacy see Warren Carroll, A History of Christendom, vols. 1-5 (Front Royal, Virginia: Christendom Press, 1985); also Patrick Madrid, Pope Fiction (San Diego: Basilica Press, 1999).
  4. The division among the Eastern Orthodox Churches tends to be cultural in nature, whereas the division among lapsed Catholics and within Protestantism typically occurs along doctrinal lines. It might also be noted that for the Eastern Churches, who have maintained a more or less imperfect union with Rome since the eleventh-century schism, division has been moderate by comparison and sound doctrine has, for the most part, been retained. For Protestantism, on the other hand, for which complete detachment from Rome’s authority has been a basic tenet, division has been rampant, resulting in tens-of-thousands of competing denominations.
  5. See Scott Butler, Norman Dahlgren, and Rev. Mr. David Hess, Jesus, Peter and the Keys (Santa Barbara, California: Queenship Publishing Company, 1996), p. 59; cf. Matt. 9:36-38.